AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie ( Tu...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB opportunities Bulletin Item

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Award 2013

Nominations are solicited for the 2013 ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award. This award is 
made for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. It is intended to recognize 
researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. The 
award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGART from the proceeds of 
previous Autonomous Agents conferences.  The recipient of the award will receive a monetary prize 
and a certificate, and will be invited to present a plenary talk at the AAMAS 2013 conference in 
St Paul, MN, see:

Previous winners of the ACM SIGART Autonomous Research Award were:
Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela 
Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe 
(2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nicholas R. Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm 
(2001). For more information on the award, see:


Anybody can make a nomination. Nominations should be made by email to the chair of the award 
committee, Michael Wooldridge (, and should consist of a short (< 1 page) 
statement that clearly describes the research contributions that the individual has made that 
merit the award, and how these contributions have influenced the field.

NOTE: a candidate can only be considered for the award if they are explicitly nominated. If you 
believe that someone deserves the award, then NOMINATE THEM -- don't assume that somebody else 


* Friday 7 December 2012 -- Deadline for nominations
* early 2013 -- announcement of 2013 winner
* 6-10 May 2013 -- AAMAS-2013 conference in St Paul, MN