CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: 2009 IEEE Int Symp on Adaptive Dynamic Programming and Reinforcement Learning

C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S

2009 IEEE International Symposium on Adaptive Dynamic Programming and 
Reinforcement Learning (IEEE ADPRL 2009) will be held 
March 30 - April 2, 2009, in Sheraton Music City Hotel, 
Nashville, TN, USA
as part of the IEEE SSCI 2009.

Paper submission due: October 31, 2008

For paper submission instructions, see

This symposium topics include, but are not limited to:

Convergence and performance bounds of ADP
Complexity issues in RL and ADP
Statistical learning and RL, PAC bounds for RL
Monte-Carlo and quasi Monte-Carlo methods
Direct policy search, actor-critic methods
Parsimoneous function representation
Adaptive feature discovery
Learning rules and architectures for RL
Sensitivity analysis for policy gradient estimation
Neuroscience and biologically inspired control
Partially observable Markov decision processes
Distributed intelligent systems
Multi-agent RL systems
Multi-level multi-objective optimization for ADPRL
Kernel methods and value function representation
Applications of ADP and RL

Program Chair:
Derong Liu, University of Illinois Chicago, USA and Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

ADPRL Publicity Co-Chair:
Hai-Bin Duan, Beihang University, China

Program Committee Members:
Charles W. Anderson, Colorado State University, USA
S. N. Balakrishnan, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Andrew G. Barto, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
Tamer Basar, University of Illinois, USA
Hamid Berenji, Intelligent Inference Systems Corp, USA
Dimitri P. Bertsekas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Xiren Cao, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China
YangQuan Chen, Utah State University, Logan, Utah, USA
Mingcong Deng, Okayama University, Japan
Thomas G. Dietterich, Oregon State University, USA
Hai-Bin Duan, Beihang University, China
El-Sayed El-Alfy, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Silvia Ferrari, Duke University, USA
James J. Govindhasamy, Queen's University Belfast, UK
Xinping Guan, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Zeng-Guang Hou, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Sanqing Hu, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, USA
Hossein Javaherian, General Motors, USA
Sham Kakade, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago, USA
George G. Lendaris, Portland State University, USA
Frank L. Lewis, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Shie Mannor, McGill University, Canada
Evangelia Micheli-Tzanakou, Rutgers University, USA
Eduardo Morales, INAOE, Mexico
Remi Munos, INRIA Lille - Nord Europe, France
Kumpati S. Narendra, Yale University, USA
Hector D. Patino, Universidad Nacional de San Juan, Argentina
Warren Powell, Princeton University, USA
Philippe Preux, INRIA & CNRS (LIFL), France
Danil Prokhorov, Toyota Technical Center, USA
John Rust, University of Maryland, USA
Edgar N. Sanchez, CINVESTAV, Mexico
Jagannathan Sarangapani, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Jennie Si, Arizona State University, USA
L. Enrique Sucar, INAOE, Mexico
Changyin Sun, Southeast University, China
Csaba Szepesvari, University of Alberta, Canada
Chen Khong Tham, National University of Singapore
Emanuel Todorov, University of California San Diego, USA
Antonios Tsourdos, Cranfield University (DCMT), UK
G. Kumar Venayagamoorthy, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Draguna Vrabie, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Fei-Yue Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Paul Werbos, National Science Foundation, USA
Bernard Widrow, Stanford University, USAXiao Hu, GE Global Research, USA
Marco Wiering, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Donald C. Wunsch, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Gary G. Yen, Oklahoma State University, USA
Guisheng Zhai, Osaka Perfecture University, Japan
Huaguang Zhang, Northeastern University, China