Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: 2nd AISB Symposium on Computing and Philosophy

2nd AISB Symposium on Computing and Philosophy; in conjunction with the 2009
AISB Convention

Date: 9th April 2009
Location: Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland

Overview: The convergence of computing and philosophy has a lineage going
back to Leibniz but it is not until the work of Alan Turing and the
appearance of electronic computers in the mid-20th century that we arrive at
a practical intersection between computing and philosophy. Precursors to the
theories and programs of interest to this AISB Symposium on Computing and
Philosophy include the Turing Test as outlined in Turing's seminal
reflection on thinking machines; the AI work of Herb Simon and Alan Newell
with the Logic Theorist; Rosenblatt's Perceptron - a biologically inspired
pattern matching device - and Grey Walter's Turtle - an early example of
embodied Cybernetic Artificial Intelligence (A.I).

The purpose of this symposium is to advance the philosophical study of
computing in general by exploring the philosophical analysis of central
concepts in computer science, the application of computational principles to
traditional philosophical problems and computational modelling of
philosophical assumptions and we welcome papers exploring any of these
issues; however in recent years there has been a growing interest in the
convergence of themes from Constructivism, Enactivism, Dynamic Systems
Theory and Second Order Cybernetics and symposium organisers are
particularly interested in receiving contributions from these areas.

Topics: Areas of interest include, but are not limited to

Constructivism; enactivism; second order cybernetics
Dynamic systems theories of cognition
Sensorimotor theories of perception
Artificial life; computer modelling in biology; simulation of behaviour
Machine understanding; Searle's Chinese room argument; the Turing test
Embodied A.I.; robotics
Virtual reality; computer-mediated communication
Philosophy of information / technology
Information and computer ethics
Metaphysics (distributed processing, emergent properties, formal ontology,
network structures, etc.)
Submission and Publication Details

Submitted contributions shall be sent by electronic mail to
( All articles shall be sent electronically as PDF
files to this address. Text editor templates can be found at . We request that
submitted papers are limited to eight pages. Each paper will receive at
least two reviews. Selected papers will be published in the general
proceedings of the AISB Convention, as long as at least one author comes to
the symposium to present the paper and participate in the discussions and
symposium activities.
Important Dates

Submission deadline:: 19th December 2008 (negotiable).
Notification of acceptance:: TBC.
Camera ready copy due:: TBC, 
Symposium: 9th April 2009.
Registration: TBC

All papers from the AISB convention will be published in the AISB
proceedings. We will further investigate the possibility of publishing the
best papers in a journal special issue or book form.

Additional Information
A "Best Student Paper" award will be given to the best student written paper
submitted to the convention. The AISB will also fund three student
scholarships. See here for further details.

Mark Bishop
Dept. Computing, Goldsmiths, University of London, London, UK.
tel: +44 (0) 2070 785048
Luciano Floridi
Department of Philosophy, University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield, UK.
tel: +44 (0) 1707 284000
Steve Torrance
Department of Informatics, University of Sussex, Brighton, UK.
tel: +44 (0) 1273 873754
Tillmann Vierkant
Department of Philosophy, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK.
tel: +44 (0) 1316 513748

Programme Committee
Alison Adam (University of Salford, UK)
Mark Bishop (Goldsmiths, University of London, UK)
Ron Chrisley (University of Sussex, UK)
Amnon Eden (University of Essex, UK)
Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire, UK)
Julian Kiverstein (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Slawek Nasuto (University of Reading, UK)
John Preston (University of Reading, UK)
Murray Shanahan (Imperial College, UK)
Susan Stuart (The University of Glasgow, UK)
Steve Torrance (University of Sussex, UK)
Tillman Vierkant (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Michael Wheeler (University of Stirling, UK)