AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...


Lighthill Debates

The Lighthill debates from 1973 are now available on YouTube. You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video  



AISB event Bulletin Item

2nd CfP: CCA 2009: Computability and Complexity in Analysis

Second Call for Papers and Announcement
Sixth International Conference on

Computability and Complexity in Analysis 2009 (CCA 2009)

August 18-22, 2009, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Submission deadline: May 11, 2009

Invited Speakers

  * Mark Braverman           (Cambridge, USA)
  * Vladik Kreinovich        (El Paso, USA)
  * Dana Scott               (Pittsburgh, USA)
  * Ning Zhong               (Cincinnati, USA)

Scientific Program Committee

  * Andrej Bauer             (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  * Vasco Brattka            (Cape Town, South Africa)
  * Mark Braverman           (Cambridge, USA)
  * Pieter Collins           (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  * Peter Hertling, co-chair (Munich, Germany)
  * Hajime Ishihara          (Ishikawa, Japan)
  * Ker-I Ko, co-chair       (Stony Brook, USA)
  * Robert Rettinger         (Hagen, Germany)
  * Victor Selivanov         (Novosibirsk, Russia)
  * Alex Simpson             (Edinburgh, Great Britain)
  * Dieter Spreen            (Siegen, Germany)
  * Frank Stephan            (Singapore)
  * Xizhong Zheng            (Glenside, USA)

Organizing Committee

  * Andrej Bauer, chair      (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  * Iztok Kavkler            (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  * Davorin Le?nik           (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  * Matija Pretnar           (Ljubljana, Slovenia)


Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana, and
Institute of Mathematics, Physics, and Mechanics, Slovenia


  * Martn Escard           (Birmingham, UK)
  * Bas Spitters and Russell O'Connor (Eindhoven, The Netherlands)


Authors are invited to submit a PDF version of an
extended abstract (typically 10-12 pages) on the
following web page:

These extended abstracts should be prepared using
the LNCS stylefile of Springer Verlag; see


Accepted papers will be published in an electronic proceedings
volume in the DROPS series of Schloss Dagstuhl.
In addition, a technical report containing the accepted
papers will be available at the conference.
It is planned to publish a special issue of some journal
dedicated to CCA 2009 after the conference.


Submission deadline:     May 11,  2009
Notification of authors: June 15, 2009
Final Version:           July 13, 2009

Conference Web Page