AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB miscellaneous Bulletin Item

2009 ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

Call For Nominations --

2009 ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

ACM SIGART, in collaboration with the International Conference on Autonomous
Agents, has instituted an annual award for excellence in research in the area
of autonomous agents. Award winners will receive an honorarium and will be
invited to give a talk at the annual Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems
(AAMAS) Conference, which in 2009 will be held in Budapest, Hungary, in May.

This award is specifically intended to recognize researchers whose current
research is influencing the field of autonomous agents and multi-agent systems.
Candidates will be evaluated based on the quality, significance, and impact of
their research contributions. It is usually expected that at least some of
these contributions should have been reported at one or more Autonomous Agents
or AAMAS conferences, although this is not an absolute requirement. Previous
winners of the SIGART Autonomous Research Award were Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit
Kraus (2007). Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo
(2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001).

The award committee is now seeking nominations for the 2009 award.

*** Nominations should be submitted by email to the Awards Committee Chair,
Sarit Kraus (

The nomination should specify:

-- Name of person being nominated;

-- Name and contact information for the person making the nomination;

-- A statement describing why the nominee should be considered for the

Nominations must be made no later than: December 16, 2008.