Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

2nd CFP: Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation WoLLIC 2010>

WoLLIC 2010
17th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation
July 6th to 9th, 2010

Universidade de Braslia,
Braslia, Brazil

Scientific Sponsorship Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL) The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI) Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL) European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) Sociedade Brasileira de Computao (SBC) Sociedade Brasileira de Lgica (SBL)

Funding (tbc)

Special: A screening of I want to be a mathematician: A conversation with Paul Halmos

Organisation Department of Mathematics, Universidade de Braslia, Brazil Centro de Informtica, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil

Call for Papers

WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The Seventeenth WoLLIC will be held in Braslia, Brazil, from July 6th to 9th, 2010. It is sponsored by theAssociation for Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL), the The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computao (SBC), and the Sociedade Brasileira de Lgica (SBL).

Special Event 2010 will mark the 50-th anniversary of the first publication of Paul Halmos' classic book Nave Set Theory by Springer Verlag. WoLLIC will celebrate this by screening the documentary about Paul Halmos which was directed by George Csicsery: "I want to be a mathematician. A conversation with Paul Halmos"

Paper submission Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming; novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection. Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and comparison with related works. They must not exceed 10 pages (in font 10 or higher), with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by one of its authors. Papers must be submitted electronically at the WoLLIC 2010 EasyChair website. (Please go to for instructions.) A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by February 28, and the full paper by March 7 (firm date). Notifications are expected by April 12, and final papers for the proceedings will be due by May 3 (firm date).

Proceedings The proceedings of WoLLIC 2010, including both invited and contributed papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in Springer's LNCS series (TBC). In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2010 issue of a scientific journal (soon to be announced).

Invited Speakers
Marcelo Finger
van Lambalgen
(Janos) Makowsky Sebastiaan Terwijn

Student Grants ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2010 will permit ASL student members to apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: April 1, 2010). See for details.

Important Dates February 28, 2010: Paper title and abstract deadlineMarch 7, 2010: Full paper deadline (firm)  April 12, 2010: Author notificationMay 3, 2010: Final version deadline (firm)

Programme Committee Vernica Becher (Buenos Aires) Raffaella Bernardi (Bolzano) Ricardo Bianconi (So Paulo) Vasco Brattka (Cape Town) Balder ten Cate (ENS, Cachan) Bob Coecke (Oxford) Adriana Compagnoni (Stevens) Marcelo Coniglio (Campinas) Anuj Dawar (Cambridge), chair Valentin Goranko (Copenhagen) Masahito Hasegawa (Kyoto U, Japan) Rosalie Iemhoff (Utrecht) Makoto Kanazawa (National Institute of Informatics, Japan) Giuseppe Longo (CNRS & ENS, Paris) Mike Mislove (Tulane) Michael Norrish (NICTA, Canberra) Bart Selman (Cornell) Scott Weinstein (Penn)

Organising Committee Mauricio Ayala-Rincon (U Braslia, Brazil) (co-chair) Flvio L. C. Moura (U Braslia, Brazil) Claudia Nalon (U Braslia, Brazil) Anjolina G. de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco, Brazil) Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco, Brazil) (co-chair)

Further information Contact one of the Co-Chairs of the Organising Committee.

Web page

Steering committee

Samson Abramsky, Johan van Benthem, Joe Halpern, Wilfrid Hodges, Daniel Leivant, Angus Macintyre, Grigori Mints, Hiroakira Ono, Ruy de Queiroz