Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB opportunities Bulletin Item

AAMAS 2014 Student Travel Support

We are delighted to announce funding for student travel support. The purpose is to enable graduate 
students to travel and participate in the conference. To be eligible, you must:
          be registered as a full-time student at a higher education institution (e.g. University); AND

          be explicitly listed as an author of a paper accepted for AAMAS-14 (full or extended abstract).

The order of priority for awards is as follows:
          students presenting a full paper accepted at the main conference
          students presenting a paper in the Challenges and Visions track
          students presenting at the doctoral consortium
          students presenting posters at the main conference

 If funds remain, students authors of workshop papers will also be considered. To the extent that 
funds allow, we also hope to support students whose research will benefit from attendance at the 
We anticipate different levels of funding based on geographic location (distance to conference 
venue, underrepresented regions), level of participation, and so on, covering most of the travel 
costs. We particularly encourage student scholarship applications from underrepresented regions. 

 To apply, you are required to complete the Student Scholarship Application Form at
 You will need to provide your participation details for AAMAS-14 as well as a pdf with a scanned 
student ID card certifying you are registered as a full-time student.
 Please note that participation in the student scholarship program carries with it an obligation 
to be a student volunteer during the conference and, in the case of US applicants, to participate 
in the doctoral mentoring consortium .

 Student volunteers are often used to provide support in the various conference rooms in case of 
problems (e.g., projector failure, etc).

 Please submit your application by January 29, 2014 (11:59pm, Hawaii time) via the web form shown 
above. We will notify you of your application decision by February 21 (in case of workshop authors 
March 21).

 Scholarship Co-Chairs
 Kagan Tumer
 Dani Villatoro
 Mathijs de Weerdt