Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: ITP 2010: Interactive Theorem Proving


Call for Papers
        ITP 2010: Conference on Interactive Theorem Proving
                11-14 July 2010, Edinburgh, Scotland


ITP brings together researchers working in all areas of interactive
theorem proving.  It combines the communities of two venerable
meetings: the TPHOLs conference and the ACL2 workshop.  The inaugural
meeting of ITP will be held on 11-14 July 2010 in Edinburgh, Scotland,
as part of the Federated Logic Conference (FLoC, 9-21 July 2010),
co-located with the other FLoC conferences (CAV, ICLP, IJCAR, LICS,
RTA, SAT) and workshops.

The program committee welcomes submissions on all aspects of
interactive theorem proving and its applications.  Examples of typical
topics include formal aspects of hardware or software (specification,
verification, semantics, synthesis, refinement, compilation, etc.);
formalization of significant bodies of mathematics; advances in
theorem prover technology (automation, decision procedures, induction,
combinations of systems and tools, etc.); other topics including those
relating to user interfaces, education, comparisons of systems, and
mechanizable logics; and concise and elegant worked examples ("Proof

Submission details:

All papers must be submitted electronically, via EasyChair:


Papers may be no longer than 16 pages and are to be submitted in PDF
using the Springer "llncs" format.  Instructions may be found at
with Latex source file typeinst.tex in the same directory.
Submissions must describe original unpublished work not submitted for
publication elsewhere, presented in a way that users of other systems
can understand.  The proceedings will be published as a volume in the
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series and will be available to
participants at the conference.

In addition to regular submissions, described above, there will be a
"rough diamonds" section.  Rough diamond submissions are limited to
four pages and may consist of an extended abstract.  They will be
refereed: they will be expected to present innovative and promising
ideas, possibly in an early form and without supporting evidence.
Accepted diamonds will be published in the main proceedings.  They
will be presented at the conference venue in a poster session.

Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their papers at the
conference, and will be required to sign copyright release forms.
All submissions must be written in English.

Important dates (midnight GMT):

 Abstract submission deadline:         15 January 2010
 Paper submission deadline:            22 January 2010
 Notification of paper decisions:        15 March 2010
 Camera-ready papers due from authors:    9 April 2010
 Conference dates:                     11-14 July 2010

Web page:


Conference co-chairs:

 Matt Kaufmann, University of Texas at Austin, USA
 Larry Paulson, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Program Committee:

 Thorsten Altenkirch, Nottingham University, United Kingdom
 David Aspinall, Edinburgh University, United Kingdom
 Jeremy Avigad, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
 Gilles Barthe, IMDEA, Spain
 Jens Brandt, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
 Thierry Coquand, Chalmers University, Sweden
 Ruben Gamboa, University of Wyoming, USA
 Georges Gonthier, Microsoft Research, United Kingdom
 David Greve, Rockwell Collins Inc., USA
 Elsa Gunter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
 John Harrison, Intel Corporation, USA
 Joe Hurd, Galois Inc., USA
 Matt Kaufmann, University of Texas at Austin, USA
 Gerwin Klein, NICTA, Australia
 Xavier Leroy, INRIA, France
 Assia Mahboubi, INRIA, France
 Panagiotis Manolios, Northeastern University, USA
 John Matthews, Galois Inc., USA
 J Moore, University of Texas at Austin, USA
 Cesar Munoz, NASA, USA
 Tobias Nipkow, TU Muenchen, Germany
 Michael Norrish, NICTA, Australia
 David Pichardie, INRIA Rennes, France
 Brigitte Pientka, McGill University, Canada
 Lee Pike, Galois Inc., USA
 Sandip Ray, University of Texas at Austin, USA
 Jose Luis Ruiz-Reina, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain
 Larry Paulson, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
 David Russinoff, Advanced Micro Devices Inc., USA
 Peter Sewell, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
 Konrad Slind, Rockwell Collins Inc., USA
 Sofiene Tahar, Concordia University, Canada
 Christian Urban, TU Muenchen, Germany

Workshop Chair:

 Michael Norrish, NICTA, Australia

Local Arrangements:

 David Aspinall, Edinburgh University, United Kingdom