Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...


Lighthill Debates

The Lighthill debates from 1973 are now available on YouTube. You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video  



AISB event Bulletin Item


Contact: suley@osir.hihm.no

ECM_MAI 2007

     in conjunction with ICAI'07, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA (June 25-28, 2007)

Call for Papers
The fields of cognitive science, artificial intelligence, and the social
sciences can together create a better understanding of cognition and social
processes than they can independently of each other. Some efforts in social
sciences, especially social simulations, have evolved an understanding of
social processes in societies independently from the other two fields.
However Sun (2006) among other has shown that there is relation between
individual cognition and social processes. Can this connection be understood
by exploring the relationship between computational cognitive modeling and
social simulation? How is the cognition of a society different from
individual cognition? In this session we will examine these questions and
many more.  We invite submissions of research that investigate any of the
following topics: (1) the relation between individual and social cognition,
(2) multi-agent models that are related to advances in individual cognition,
(3) social simulations that utilize cognitive science or artificial
intelligence techniques, (4) aspects of social cognition that require
modeling, and (5) the integration of cognitive models of learning into
multi-agent interaction.

 (Sun, R., 2006) Cognition and Multi-Agent Interaction, Edited by Ron Sun,
2006, Cambridge University Press.

Submission of Papers
Authors are invited to submit their draft paper (between 5 to 7 pages -
single space, font size of 10 to 12) to Sule Yildirim (suley@osir.hihm.no)
or Bill Rand (wrand@northwestern.edu) before the deadline. E-mail
submissions in MS document or PDF formats are preferable. All reasonable
typesetting formats are acceptable. These are general guidelines, if you
would like to submit in a different format please contact the coordinators.
Papers must not have been previously published or current submitted for
publication elsewhere. Upon acceptance authors will be asked to follow the
IEEE style format in preparing their papers for publication (max. 7 pages).
The first page of the submission should include:

-Title of the paper
-Name, affiliation, postal address, e-mail address, telephone number and fax
number for each author
-Name of the author who will present the paper should be indicated
-A maximum of five keywords

Session Format
The session will begin with an overview of the topic by the coordinators,
and the peer-reviewed papers will then be orally presented.  If time permits
a wrap-up discussion will take place at the end of the session.

Important Dates
Submission deadline: 1 March, 2007.
Notification of acceptance: 20 March, 2007.
Camera-ready due: 20 April, 2007.
Conference registration deadline: 20 April, 2007

See ICAI'07 website for complete details.

Program Committee
Session Chairs

  a.. Sule Yildirim, Hedmark University College
  b.. Bill Rand, Northwestern University

Program Committee

         Ron Sun, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

         Tuncer ren, University of Ottawa

         Maarten Sierhuis, RIACS/NASA Ames Research Center

         Angelo Cangelosi, University of Plymouth

         Agnar Aamodt, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

         Peter De Souza, Hedmark University College

         Ashwin Ram, Georgia Tech
         Levent Yilmaz, Auburn University