Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB opportunities Bulletin Item


Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, 
http://www.folli.info) has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to 
outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and 
Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which 
resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2013. The dissertations will be 
judged on technical depth and strength, originality, and impact made in at 
least two of three fields of Logic, Language, and Computation. 
Interdisciplinarity is an important feature of the theses competing for 
the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree in 
the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 2013 and 
December 31st, 2013. Theses must be written in English; however, the 
Committee accepts submissions of English translations of theses originally 
written in other languages, and for which a PhD was awarded in the 
preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2011 and December 31st, 
2012). There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or on 
the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:

-a certificate

-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation

-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to the 
FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer). For 
further information on this series see the FoLLI site.

How to submit.

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are 

1. The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).

2. A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.

3. A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations are 
not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. 
The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and 
significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was officially 

4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter from a 
referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the 
Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip file) 
to Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt@cs.man.ac.uk). Hard copy submissions are not 
allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of 
notification within three working days, nominators should write to Ian 

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: May 5th, 2014. Notification of Decision: July 
14th, 2014.

Committee :

Julian Bradfield (Edinburgh)

Wojciech Buszkowski (Poznan)

Michael Kaminski (Haifa)

Marco Kuhlmann (Linkoping)

Larry Moss (Bloomington)

Ian Pratt-Hartmann (chair) (Manchester)

Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)

Giovanni Sambin (Padua)

Rob van der Sandt (Nijmegen)

Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)