Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item


IJCAR 2010 - The 5th International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning
                       Edinburgh, UK, July 16-19, 2010

               as part of FLoC 2010 - Federated Logic Conference

                              Call for Papers

IJCAR is the premier international joint conference on all topics
in automated reasoning. The IJCAR technical program will consist
of presentations of high-quality original research papers,
system descriptions, and invited talks.

IJCAR 2010 is a merger of leading events in automated reasoning:

  CADE (Conference on Automated Deduction),
  FroCoS (Workshop on Frontiers of Combining Systems),
  FTP (Workshop on First-order Theorem Proving), and
  TABLEAUX (Conference on Analytic Tableaux and Related Methods)

IJCAR 2010 invites submissions related to all aspects of automated
reasoning, including foundations, implementations, and applications.
Original research papers and descriptions of working automated deduction
systems are solicited.

The proceedings of IJCAR 2010 will be published by Springer-Verlag in
the LNAI/LNCS series.

Submission details: Submission is electronic, through

Authors are strongly encouraged to use LaTeX and the Springer "llncs"
format, which can be obtained from
The page limit is 15 pages for full papers, and 7 pages for system

Program co-chairs:
  Juergen Giesl (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  Reiner Haehnle (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)

Conference chair:
  Alan Bundy (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Workshop chair:
  Aaron Stump (University of Iowa, USA)

Publicity chair:
  Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (MPI-INF Saarbruecken, Germany)

Important dates:
  Abstract submission deadline:                     January 15, 2010
  Paper submission deadline:                        January 22, 2010
  Notification of paper decisions:                    March 15, 2010
  Final version of papers due:                        April 19, 2010
  Conference dates:                                 July 16-19, 2010

Student Travel Awards:
Travel awards will be available to enable selected students to attend the
conference. Details will be published in March 2010.

IJCAR 2010 invited speakers:
  Johan van Benthem (ILLC, Amsterdam and Stanford University)
  Leonardo de Moura (Microsoft Research, USA)

Program Committee:
  Carlos Areces (INRIA Nancy Grand Est, France)
  Alessandro Armando (University of Genova, Italy)
  Franz Baader (Technical University of Dresden, Germany)
  Peter Baumgartner (NICTA Canberra, Australia)
  Bernhard Beckert (University of Koblenz, Germany)
  Christoph Benzmueller (International University Bruchsal, Germany)
  Nikolaj Bjorner (Microsoft Research, USA)
  Maria Paola Bonacina (Universita` degli Studi di Verona, Italy)
  Alan Bundy (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  Gilles Dowek (Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  Christian Fermueller (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  Ulrich Furbach (University of Koblenz, Germany)
  Didier Galmiche (LORIA Nancy, France)
  Silvio Ghilardi (University of Milano, Italy)
  Martin Giese (University of Oslo, Norway)
  Juergen Giesl (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  Rajeev Gore (The Australian National University, Australia)
  Bernhard Gramlich (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  Reiner Haehnle (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  Ullrich Hustadt (University of Liverpool, UK)
  Deepak Kapur (University of New Mexico, USA)
  Viktor Kuncak (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland)
  Rustan Leino (Microsoft Research, USA)
  Carsten Lutz (University of Bremen, Germany)
  George Metcalfe (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  Aart Middeldorp (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  Neil Murray (University at Albany - SUNY, USA)
  Tobias Nipkow (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
  Nicola Olivetti (LSIS, University of Aix-Marseille, France)
  Nicolas Peltier (LIG Grenoble, France)
  Frank Pfenning (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  Brigitte Pientka (McGill University, Canada)
  Andre Platzer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  Christophe Ringeissen (LORIA Nancy, France)
  Albert Rubio (UPC Barcelona, Spain)
  Renate Schmidt (The University of Manchester, UK)
  Carsten Schuermann (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  Roberto Sebastiani (University of Trento, Italy)
  Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (MPI-INF Saarbruecken, Germany)
  Aaron Stump (University of Iowa, USA)
  Geoff Sutcliffe (University of Miami, USA)
  Cesare Tinelli (University of Iowa, USA)
  Ashish Tiwari (SRI International, USA)
  Andrei Voronkov (The University of Manchester, UK)
  Christoph Weidenbach (MPI-INF Saarbruecken, Germany)