Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: CCA 2010 (Computability and Complexity in Analysis)

Call for Papers:

Seventh International Conference on Computability and Complexity in Analysis (CCA 2010) will take place in Zhenjiang, China, June 21 - 25, 2010. (

The CCA 2010 Program Committee cordially invites researchers in the area of computability and complexity theory to submit papers for presentation at the conference.

*       Computable analysis
*       Complexity on real numbers
*       Constructive analysis
*       Domain theory and analysis
*       Theory of representations
*       Computable numbers, subsets and functions
*       Randomness and computable measure theory
*       Models of computability on real numbers
*       Realizability theory and analysis
*       Real number algorithms
*       Implementation of exact real number arithmetic


Authors are invited to submit a PDF version of an extended abstract (typically 10-12 pages) on the following web page:

These extended abstracts need to be prepared with EPTCS style file


Accepted papers will be published as CCA 2010 proceedings in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS).

It is planned to publish a special issue in some journal dedicated to CCA 2010 after the conference.


Submission deadline: March 8, 2010
Notification of authors: April 12, 2010
Final version: May 10, 2010

Invited Speaker:

Klaus Ambos-Spies (Heidelberg, Germany)
Ding-Zhu Du (Dallas, USA)
Stefano Galatolo (Pisa, Italy)
Hajime Ishihara (Ishikawa, Japan)
Ker-I Ko (Beijing, China and Stony Brook, USA)
Robert Rettinger (Hagen, Germany)
Klaus Weihrauch (Hagen, Germany)

Program Committee:

Andrej Bauer (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Douglas Bridges (Canterbury, New Zealand) 
Vasco Brattka (Cape Town, South Africa) 
Douglas Cenzer (Gainesville, USA) 
Martn Escard (Birmingham, UK)
Peter Gacs (Boston, USA) 
Daniel Graca (Faro, Portugal) 
Vladik Kreinovich (El Paso, USA) 
Angsheng Li (Beijing, China) 
Elvira Mayordomo (Zaragoza, Spain) 
Mathias Schrder (Munich, Germany) 
Dieter Spreen (Siegen, Germany) 
Kaile Su (Beijing, China) 
Hideki Tsuiki (Kyoto, Japan) 
Xizhong Zheng, co-chair (Glenside, USA) 
Ning Zhong, co-chair (Cincinnati, USA) 
Martin Ziegler (Darmstadt, Germany)