Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: IEEE Conference on Tools with Artificial Intelligence




22th International IEEE  Conference on Tools with Artificial Intelligence

               October 27-29, 2010, Arras, France

        45 mn from Charles de Gaulle Paris International Airport by direct train
            50 mn from downtown Paris by direct train


Important Dates

Paper submission: June 6, 2010
Paper notification: July 15, 2010
Camera ready paper: August 31, 2010


Aim & Scope

The annual IEEE International Conference on Tools with Artificial Intelligence (ICTAI)
provides a major international forum where the creation and exchange of ideas related to
artificial intelligence are fostered among academia, industry, and government agencies. The
conference facilitates the cross-fertilization of these ideas and promotes their transfer into
practical tools, for developing intelligent systems and pursuing artificial intelligence
applications. The ICTAI encompasses all technical aspects of specifying, developing and
evaluating the theoretical underpinnings and applied mechanisms of the AI based components
of computer tools (i.e. algorithms, architectures and languages).

Topics (not limited to)

AI Algorithms
AI in Bioinformatics
AI in Computer Security
AI in Databases and Data Mining
AI in E-commerce
AI in Games
AI in Information Assurance
AI in Logistics
AI in Medicine
AI in Multimedia Systems
AI in Real-time & Embedded Applications
AI in Robotics
AI in Software Engineering
Case-Based Reasoning
Cognitive Modelling
Constraint Programming
Collaborative Software Agents
Reasoning Under Fuzziness or Uncertainty
Evolutionary Computing
Hybrid Intelligent Systems
Information Retrieval
Intelligent Tutoring/Training Systems
Intelligent Internet Agents
Intelligent Interface Agents
Knowledge-based Systems
Knowledge Extraction
Knowledge Management and Sharing
Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
Machine Learning
Natural Language Processing and Understanding
Neural Networks
Planning and Scheduling
Qualitative Reasoning
Search and Heuristics, SAT, CSP, QBF
Semantic Web-Techniques & Technologies
Speech Processing and Understanding
Vision/Image Processing & Understanding

Paper Submission

The submissions should contain original, high quality, not submitted or published elsewhere
work. Papers should be submitted electronically (through ICTAI 2010 web site) in pdf format
and should conform to IEEE specifications (single-spaced, double-column, 10-point font size,
up to 8 pages).

Paper Presentation

Each accepted paper should be presented by one of the authors and accompanied by at least
one full registration fee payment, to guarantee publication in the proceedings. All accepted
papers will be included in proceedings of ICTAI 2010, which will be published by the IEEE.

IJAIT special issue

Extended versions of the best papers of the conference will be invited for publication in a
special issue of the International Journal on Artificial Intelligence Tools (IJAIT) (SCI

Further Information

ric Grgoire (PC Chair)
Universit d'Artois
rue Jean Souvraz SP18
F-62307 Lens, FRANCE

Email: gregoire [at] cril [dot] univ-artois [dot] fr

Steering Committee

Nikolaos Bourbakis, (Chair)
Chittoor V. Ramamoorthy
Jeffrey Tsai
Benjamin W. Wah
Farokh B. Bastani
Soon Chung
Despina Kavraki
Ioannis Hatziligeroudis

Co-general chairs

Naohiro Ishii (Asian liaison)
Phil Sheu (USA liaison)	
Youssef Hamadi (European liaison)

Program Committee Chair

ric Grgoire

Area Chairs

Shyi-Ming Chen
Diane Cook
Alfredo Cuzzocrea
Jin-Kao Hao
Vasant Honavar
Nobuhiro Inuzuka
Daniel Kayser
Taghi Khoshgoftaar
Vasile Palade
Luigi Portinale
Henri Prade
Marie-Christine Rousset
Andreas-Georgios Stafylopatis
Karl Tombre
Zhi-Hua Zhou
Du Zhang
Sotirios Ziavras

Program Committee

Hamid Aghajan
Charles Anderson
Spyros Angelopoulos
Asa Ben-Hur
Antonio Berlanga-de-Jesus
Philippe Besnard
Harry Bunt
Philippe Chatalic
Nicolae Constantin
Aaron Crandall
Belen Diaz Agudo
Xin Geng
Malik Ghallab
Francois Goasdou
Jose Juarez Herrero
Yin-Tong Hsiao
Thomas R. Ioeger
Yuji Iwahori
Fabrice Jouanot
Hyunju Kim
Helge Langseth
Huey-Ming Lee
Giorgio Leonardi
Yung-Ho Leu
Xiaoou Li
Yanjun Li
Dan Lopresti
Congnan Luo
Tony R. Martinez
Bertrand Mazure
Stefania Montani
Naoto Mukai
Tsuyoshi Nakamura
Mehmet Orgun
Jeng-Shyang Pan
John Paxton
Jun Peng
Vir Phoha
Cedric Piette
Parisa Rashidi
Marek Reformat
Lorenza Saitta
Erik Sandewall
Lakhdar Sas
Vincent Schmidt
Jianqiang Shen
Victor R. L. Shen
Marina Sokolova
ChewLim Tan
Alexandre Termier
Douglas Vieira
Toby Walsh
Marcel Worring
Ioannis Zaharakis
Daoqiang Zhang

Financial Chair Manuel Demont

Registration Chair  Nadine Kucharski

Publication Chair Bertrand Mazure

Webmaster Fabien Delorme

Local Arrangements Committee

Assef Chmeiss
Jean-Luc Coquid (chair)
Tiago de Lima
Anne Parrain
Cdric Piette
Lakhdar Sas
Sbastien Tabary