Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: INSS2007 ( Networked Sensing Systems )DEADLINE EXTENSION


Call For Papers
		      EXTENDED DEADLINE: DEC 11th, 2007

                       Fourth International Conference 
                on Networked Sensing Systems (INSS 2007)

                            June 6-8, 2007
                         Braunschweig, Germany
              Sponsored by Transducer Research Foundation

During the past years, the International Conference on Networked Sensing 
Systems(INSS) has established itself as THE scientific event where 
academic and industrial experts from the areas of sensor systems, 
wireless networks,and applications on sensor networks come together. 
The INSS provides a forum to hear about the hottest developments in 
these areas, to exchange ideas, and to start up collaborations within 
these fields and between industry and academia.

INSS 2007 is the fourth annual conference in the series, and features a 
highly selective, single-track technical program. We invite outstanding 
research papers from the field of sensor technology, wireless networking, 
or application of networked sensor systems. The conference especially 
encourages submissions that investigate research issues shared between 
all three areas.

Topics include but are not limited to:
 - Applications of Networked Sensing Systems
 - Prototypes, Field Studies, and Testbeds
    for Networked Sensing Systems
 - Security for Networked Sensing Systems
 - Data Management for Networked Sensing Systems
 - Middleware for Networked Sensing Systems
 - Communication Protocols
 - Sensor Phenomena and Modeling
 - Sensors and Sensing Systems
 - Materials, Fabrication, and Packaging of Sensors

INSS 2007 invites the submission of both regular and BOF papers. 
Regular papers must be no more than 8 two-column pages (minimum 4 pages) 
long and include an abstract of 100 - 150 words. Birds-of-a-Feather (BoF) 
papers must be no more than 4 two-column pages long and include an 
abstract of 100 - 150 words. BoF papers are suitable for interactive 
discussions; the presenters of accepted BoF papers are given short oral 
presentation times and poster space for discussions.

INSS 2007 is specifically seeking papers that are of interest to the 
interdisciplinary community represented at the conference. All 
submissions will be peer-reviewed and evaluated on the basis of 
originality, significance of contribution, technical correctness, and 
presentation. Papers submitted must not be under simultaneous review 
for any other conference, journal, workshop, or other publication. 
Papers should be formatted according to the "IEEE transactions" format 
- see the conference Web site for details. Accepted papers will be 
included in the conference proceedings. Authors are required to attend 
the conference to present their work.

Important Dates
  Paper Submission Deadline:      December 11, 2006 (!extended!)
  Notification of Acceptance:     February 5, 2007
  Camera-Ready Papers:            March 15, 2007
  Conference Dates:               June 6 - 8, 2007
  Further information:            http://www.inss-conf.org/


General Co-chairs:
Michael Beigl, University of Braunschweig, Germany
Shuichi Shoji, Waseda University, Japan

TRF Liason:
Richard S. Muller, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Program Chair:
Hideyuki Nakashima, Future University-Hakodate, Japan

Program Vice-chairs:
Tian He, University of Minnesota, USA
Yoshito Tobe, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Harri Kopola, VTT, Finland

Publicity Co-chairs:
Suzumu Ishihara, Shizuoka University, Japan
Koen Langendoen, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
Darrin Young, Case Western Reserve University, USA

Posters chair:
Albert Krohn, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Demonstrations chair:
Jin Nakazawa, Keio University, Japan

Program Committee: 
Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Shigeru Ando, University of Tokyo, Japan
Jo De Boeck, Holst Centre, IMEC-Netherlands, the Netherlands
Michael Beigl, University of Braunschweig, Germany
Jan Beutel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Steven Garverick, Case Western Reserve University, USA
Mike Hazas, Lancaster University, UK
Juhani Hirvonen, VTT, Finland
Satoshi Honda, Keio University, Japan
Hidekata Hontani, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
Hideto Iwaoka, Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Japan
Yoshihiro Kawahara, University of Tokyo, Japan
Hideyuki Kawashima, Keio University, Japan
Albert Krohn, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
Narito Kurata, Kajima, Japan
Satoshi Kurihara, Osaka University, Japan
Koen Langendoen, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
Marc Langheinrich, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Hyunyoung Lee, University of Denver, USA
Pedro Marron, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Pedram Mohseni, Case Western Reserve University, USA
Jose Moura, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Takuichi Nishimura, Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan
Joseph Paradiso, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Marcelo Pias, University of Cambridge, UK
Susanna Pirttikangas, University of Oulu, Finland
Kay Roemer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Shoichi Sakane, Yokogawa Electric, Japan
Shuichi Shoji, Waseda University, Japan
Gregor Schiele, University of Mannheim, Germany
Sang Hyuk Son, University of Virginia, USA
John Stankovic, University Virginia, USA
Norman Tien, Case Western Reserve University, USA
Darrin Young, Case Western Reserve University, USA