Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB miscellaneous Bulletin Item

Winner of IFAAMAS-08 Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award announced

Ariel Procaccia receives the 2008 Victor Lesser Distinguished
Dissertation Award sponsored by IFAAMAS, the International Foundation
for Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems (

The selection committee for the IFAAMAS-08 Victor Lesser Distinguished
Dissertation Award is pleased to announce that Dr. Ariel Procaccia has
won the award. Dr. Procaccia received the Ph.D. in Computer Science
from Hebrew University of Jerusalem.  His thesis contains fundamental
contributions to computational social choice theory, covering a wide
variety of topics including the complexity of election manipulation,
the robustness of voting rules, the learnability of voting rules, and
incentive-compatible machine learning. Among other contributions, it
introduces a new way of analyzing the manipulability of social choice
functions, which has become influential in AAMAS and related research

The committee is also pleased to announce two runners-up: Dr. Matthew
Taylor, who received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University
of Texas at Austin, and Dr. Yevgeniy Vorobeychik, who received his
Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering from the University of
Michigan. Dr. Taylor's thesis concerns transfer learning and Dr.
Vorobeychik's thesis studies empirical mechanism design. Both
dissertations also make innovative and influential contributions to
the field of autonomous agents and multiagent systems.

Previous winners of this award were Radu Jurca (2007) and Vincent
Conitzer (2006).

The selection committee members were Vincent Conitzer, Les Gasser,
Radu Jurca, Sarit Kraus, Sandip Sen, and Makoto Yokoo (chair).