AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...


Lighthill Debates

The Lighthill debates from 1973 are now available on YouTube. You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video  



AISB event Bulletin Item

3rd Workshop on the Philosophy of Information, Brussels

Third Workshop on the Philosophy of Information,
18-19 November 2010

An ambitious project like the philosophy of information cannot operate in isolation. Not only does it have to rely on input from the sciences of information and computation, it also needs to convince those who are sympathetic to the project (including those who had been philosophers of information without realising it) to contribute actively, and encourage the sceptics to challenge the basic assumptions of the philosophy of information. The series of workshops in the philosophy of information provide a platform for this kind of interaction.

For the third workshop on the philosophy of information, we bring together researchers who have been working in the philosophy of information, with researchers working in related areas.


Tony Belpaeme, Werner Callebaut, Liesbeth De Mol, Gabriella Pigozzi,
Darrell Rowbottom, Benedikt Lwe, Luciano Floridi, Erik Myin, Francesca

Organising Committee

Jean Paul Van Bendegem, Joke Meheus, Luciano Floridi, Giuseppe Primiero,
Patrick Allo

Programme Committee

Jean Paul Van Bendegem, Joke Meheus, Luciano Floridi, Erik Myin, Bart
Van Kerkhove, Steven French, Sonja Smets

Practical Information

The workshop is held at the Paleis der Academin, Hertogstraat 1, 1000

Admission is free, but registration is required. Please send an email to with your name and affiliation.