CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: SIROCCO 2011: Structural Information and Communication Complexity

Preliminary call for papers

                          SIROCCO 2011

                18th International Colloquium on
       Structural Information and Communication Complexity

                          June 26-29
                        Gdansk, Poland


Important dates

Submission deadline:         March 10, 2011
Author notification:         April 15, 2011
Camera-ready submission:     April 30, 2011


SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge in
multi-processor systems from both the qualitative and quantitative
viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative approaches and
fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current


SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive scientific
meetings in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, attracting leading
researchers in a variety of fields in which communication and
knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in
Gdansk, a 1000-year old city on the Baltic coast in northern Poland,
with medieval tenements overlooking the Motlawa River.


Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local
structural knowledge and global communication and computational
complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing,
communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social
networks, mobile computing (including autonomous robots), peer
to peer systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant graph
theories, and randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. Keeping
with the tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome.


The Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing is awarded annually
in the SIROCCO conference to recognize individuals whose research
contributions had a major impact on the understanding of the
relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized
computing. Only authors of papers that were published in SIROCCO are
eligible to receive the award. More details are available in the
SIROCCO 2011 web site.


Full papers (12 pages + appendix) are to be submitted electronically,
following the guidelines available on the conference web page. The
deadline for submitting a paper is *March 10*. Notification of
acceptance will be sent out by April 15, and the camera-ready papers
are due on April 30.


The proceedings of SIROCCO 2011 will be (most certainly) published by
Springer-Verlag as a part of the LNCS series. Selected papers will be
invited to a special issue of the journal /Theoretical Computer Science/.

Conference organization

Program Committee Chair
 Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu U., Japan)

Program Committee
 Amotz Bar-Noy (City U. NY, USA)
 Jeremie Chalopin (CNRS & Aix-Marseille U., France)
 Wei Chen (Microsoft Research Asia, China)
 Leszek Gasieniec (U. Liverpool, England)
 Sun-Yuan Hsieh (National Cheng Kung U., Taiwan)
 Taisuke Izumi (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
 Ralf Klasing (CNRS & U. Bordeaux, France)
 Adrian Kosowski (Gdansk U. Tech., Poland / INRIA Bordeaux, France)
 Zvi Lotker (Ben-Gurion U., Israel)
 Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Australia)
 Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela (U. Roma, Italy)
 Mikhail Nesterenko (Kent State U., USA)
 Jung-Heum Park (Catholic U., Korea)
 Andrzej Pelc (U. Quebec, Canada)
 Joseph Peters (Simon Fraser U., Canada)
 Andrzej Proskurowski (U. Oregon, USA)
 Sergio Rajsbaum (UNAM, Mexico)
 Christian Scheideler (U. Paderborn, Germany)
 Ichiro Suzuki (U. Wisconsin, USA)

Steering Committee Chair
 Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS & U. Paris Diderot, France)

Steering Committee
 Tinaz Ekim (Bogazici U., Turkey)
 Pascal Felber (U. Neuchatel, Switzerland)
 Paola Flocchini (U. Ottawa, Canada)
 Lefteris Kirousis (U. Patras, Greece)
 Rastislav Kralovic (Comenius U., Slovakia)
 Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton U., Canada)
 Danny Krizanc (Wesleyan U., USA)
 Shay Kutten (Technion, Israel)
 Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Australia)
 Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv U., Israel)
 David Peleg (Weizmann Institute, Israel)
 Nicola Santoro (Carleton U., Canada)
 Alex Shvartsman (U. Connecticut, USA)
 Pavlos Spirakis (CTI & U. Patras, Greece)
 Janez Zerovnik (U. Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Local Arrangement Chair
 Adrian Kosowski (Gdansk U. Tech., Poland / INRIA Bordeaux, France)

Publicity Chair
 David Ilcinkas (CNRS & U. Bordeaux, France)