AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...


Lighthill Debates

The Lighthill debates from 1973 are now available on YouTube. You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video  



AISB event Bulletin Item

MEETING: Third European Set Theory, Edinburgh (Scotland), 4-7 July 2011
Contact: Sedki Boughattas,

We should like to announce that the Third European Set Theory Meeting 
(July 4 -7 2011 Edinburgh) is now open for applicants wishing to attend.

The meeting is funded jointly by ESF-ERCOM and the International Centre 
for Mathematical Sciences in Edinburgh (with further support from the 
INFTY Project). See the nascent website of the meeting:

There are limited number of places available, and according to ESF 
procedures, there is a Conference Fee and an application process which 
asks those wishing to attend to fill out an on-line application form here:

There is a DEADLINE for this of March 27'th. Soon thereafter applicants 
will be notified of the outcome. It is hoped that, as in the previous two 
meetings at Bedlewo, there will be the possibilities of grants to assist 
with attendance of younger researchers. (NB The ESF webform offers the 
possibility of applicants giving "short talks": in fact there will not be 
such, but only Invited Speakers. There will be the opportunity of a Poster 
Session, if colleagues wish to submit a poster.)

Invited Speakers include:  (* = Unconfimed):

Kechris, Aleckos (Caltech)
Aczel, Peter (Manchester)
*Todorcevic, Stevo (Paris VII & Toronto)
*Louveau, Alain (Paris VI & CNRS)
Velickovic, Boban (Paris VII)
Rosendal, Christian  (UI at Chicgo)
*Hugh Woodin (Berkeley)
Farah, Ilias (York, Canada)
Viale, Matteo (Torino)
Kanovei, Vladimir (Moscow)
*Camerlo, Riccardo (Torino)
Sinapova, Dima (UCI)
Mildenberger, Heike (Freiburg)
Brooke-Taylor, Andrew (Bristol)
Dobrinen, Natasha  (Denver)
Rinot, Assaf (Tel Aviv)
Soukup, Lajos (Budapest)
*Aspero, David (Bogota)
Koszmider, Piotr (TU Lodz),
Avraham, Uri (Ben Gurion Univ.)
*Miller, Ben (Muenster)
Schindler, Ralf-Dieter (Muenster)
Schimmerling, Ernest (Carnegie-Mellon)
Plebanek, Gregorsz (Wroclaw)
van den Berg, Benno (TU Darmstadt)
Flaskova, Jana (West Bohemia in Pilsen)

We hope to see you at the Meeting,
J. Bagaria,
M. Magidor,
J. Vaananen,
P. Welch.