AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

2nd CFP: Unconventional Computation (UC) 2011, Turku (Finland), 6-10 June 2011

Important dates

- Paper submission deadline: January 31, 2011
- Notification to authors: March 4, 2011
- Final versions due: March 21, 2011
- Poster submission deadline: April 18, 2011
- UC 2011: June 6-10, 2011

UC 2011 is organized by the FUNDIM laboratory of the mathematics department at the University of Turku, Finland, under the auspices of EATCS.

Original papers and posters are solicited in all all areas of unconventional computation. Papers/posters dealing with theory as well as with experiments and applications are welcome. Typical, but not exclusive, topics are: natural computing including quantum, cellular, molecular, neural and membrane computing, as well as evolutionary paradigms; chaos and dynamical systems based computing; proposals for computations going beyond the Turing model.

Submissions: Authors are invited to submit papers (at most 12 pages) or posters electronically, via EasyChair:
All submissions are expected to be in the pdf format. Paper submissions should be prepared following the LNCS format of Springer. Poster submissions should contain either a graphical poster or an abstract with sufficient details for the reviewers. Simultaneous submissions to other conferences with published proceedings are not permitted. Each accepted paper/poster must be presented at the conference. The author of the poster is responsible for printing it. The proceedings (only for papers) will be published by Springer LNCS series and will be available at the conference.

Programme Committee:
- Selim Akl (Kingston, CA)
- Olivier Bournez (Paris, FR)
- Thomas Bck ( Leiden, NL)
- Adan Cabello (Sevilla, ES)
- Barry Cooper (Leeds, UK)
- Jos Flix Costa (Lisbon, PT)
- Nachum Dershowitz (Tel Aviv, IL)
- Eric Goles (Santiago, CL)
- Shan He (Birmingham, UK)
- Mika Hirvensalo (Turku, FI)
- Natasha Jonoska (Tampa FL, US)
- Jarkko Kari (Turku, FI, co-chair)
- Giancarlo Mauri (Milano, IT)
- Kenichi Morita (Hiroshima, JP)
- Ion Petre (Turku, FI, co-chair)
- Kai Salomaa (Kingston, CA)
- Hava Siegelmann (Amherst MA, US)
- Susan Stepney (York, UK)
- Fumiaki Tanaka (Tokyo, JP)
- Jon Timmis (York, UK)

Invited Speakers:
- Samson Abramsky (Oxford, UK),
- Bastien Chopard (Geneva, CH),
- David Corne (Edinburgh, UK),
- Juhani Karhumki (Turku, FI),
- Gheorghe Pa(un (Bucharest, RO),
- Grzegorz Rozenberg (Leiden, NL).

- Quantum Information (Mika Hirvensalo, Turku, FI),
- Cellular Automata (Nicolas Ollinger, Marseille, FR),
- Membrane Computing (Mario de J. Prez Jimnez, Sevilla, SP).

Satellite Workshops:
- Physics and Computation (org. Mike Stannet),
- Hypercomputation (org. Mike Stannet),
- Language Theory in Biocomputing (org. Tero Harju),
- Discrete Models of Complex Systems (org. Anna Lawniczak)

Conference location: The conference and the satellite workshops will take place in the Calonia and Arcanum buildings of the University of Turku.

Conference History: The first venue of the Unconventional Computation Conference (formerly called Unconventional Models of Computation) was Auckland, New Zealand, in 1998; subsequent sites of the conference were Brussels, Belgium, in 2000; Kobe, Japan, in 2002; Seville, Spain, in 2005; York, UK, in 2006; Kingston, Canada, in 2007; Vienna, Austria, in 2008; Ponta Delgada, Portugal, in 2009; and Tokyo, Japan, in 2010.

Organizing Committee:
- Pierre Guillon
- Tero Harju
- Mika Hirvensalo
- Timo Jolivet
- Juhani Karhumki
- Jarkko Kari (chair)
- Arto Lepist
- Ion Petre
- Petri Salmela
- Charalampos Zinoviadis

Proceedings Committee:
- Cristian S. Calude
- Jarkko Kari
- Arto Lepist
- Ion Petre
- Grzegorz Rozenberg

UC Steering Committee:
- Thomas Bck (Leiden, NL),
- Cristian S. Calude (Auckland, NZ, co-chair),
- Lov K. Grover (Murray Hill NJ, US),
- Jarkko Kari (Turku, FI),
- Lila Kari (London, CA),
- Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht, NL),
- Seth Lloyd (Cambridge MA, US),
- Gheorghe Pa(un (Bucharest, RO),
- Tommaso Toffoli (Boston MA, US),
- Carme Torras (Barcelona, SP),
- Grzegorz Rozenberg (Leiden, NL, co-chair),
- Arto Salomaa (Turku, FI).