AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie ( Tu...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CONFERENCE: "Groups and Model Theory", 30 May - 3 June 2011, Germany

Muelheim an der Ruhr (Germany)

The conference will focus on Group Theory, Model Theory and their interaction with a particular emphasis on Abelian Group Theory.

The lectures on Thursday and the conference dinner are dedicated to Professor Ruediger Goebel on the occasion of his 70th birthday.

The following main speakers have agreed to give a lecture:

Silvana Bazzoni (Padova)
Peter Cameron (London)
Laszlo Fuchs (Tulane)
Ruediger Goebel (Essen)
Dugald Macpherson (Leeds)
Luigi Salce (Padova)
Saharon Shelah (Jerusalem)
Simon Thomas (Rutgers)
Jan Trlifaj (Prague)
John Truss (Leeds)

Moreover, there will be several plenary talks by invited young speakers including

Gabor Braun (Budapest)
Antongiulio Fornasiero (Mnster)
Daniel Herden (Essen)
Itay Kaplan (Konstanz and Jerusalem)

For further information including submission of talks, registration, the conference center, accomodation, and travelling, please see

Everyone is welcome to participate and to submit talks.

Lutz Struengmann, Manfred Droste, Katrin Tent, and Martin Ziegler