Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing, 31 Aug - 2 Sep 2011, South Africa

ICTAC 2011, Johannesburg, South Africa


ICTAC 2011 is the 8th International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing, the latest in a series founded by the International Institute for Software Technology of the United Nations University (UNU-IIST). ICTAC 2011 will bring together practitioners and researchers from academia, industry and government to present research and to exchange ideas and experience addressing challenges in both theoretical aspects of computing and in the exploitation of theory through methods and tools for system development. The other main purpose is to promote cooperation in research and education between participants and their institutions, from developing and industrial countries, as in the mandate of the United Nations University.


The topics of the conference include, but are not limited to:

    * automata theory and formal languages;
    * principles and semantics of programming languages;
    * logics and their applications;
    * software architectures and their description languages;
    * software specification, refinement, verification and testing;
    * model checking and theorem proving;
    * formal techniques in software testing;
    * models of object and component systems;
    * coordination and feature interaction;
    * integration of theories, formal methods and tools for engineering computing systems;
    * service-oriented development;
    * service-oriented architectures: models and development methods;
    * document-driven development;
    * models of concurrency, security, and mobility;
    * theory of parallel, distributed, and grid computing;
    * real-time, embedded and hybrid systems;
    * type and category theory in computer science;
    * models for learning and education;
    * cognitive architectures;
    * qualitative reasoning;
    * case studies, theories, tools and experiments of verified systems;
    * domain-specific modeling and technology: examples, frameworks and experience.


    * Jayadev Misra
    * David Parnas
    * Willem Visser


The proceedings of ICTAC 2011 will be published by Springer in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and will be avaialble at the colloquium. A special issue of a journal with extended version of selected papers from ICTAC 2011 is under negotiation.

Submissions to the colloquium must not have been published or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere.
All submissions will be judged on the basis of originality, contribution to the field, technical and presentation quality, and relevance to the conference. Papers should be written in English and not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format (see for details).

Papers shall be submitted at

All queries should be sent to:


Paper abstract submission deadline: 15 March 2011
Paper submission deadline:          22 March 2011
Paper Accept/Reject Notification:   15 May 2011
Final paper submission              31 May 2011


    * Bernhard K. Aichernig, Austria
    * Junia Anacleto, Brazil
    * Jonathan P. Bowen, UK
    * Christiano Braga, Brazil
    * Vasco Brattka, South Africa
    * Andrew Butterfield, Ireland
    * Ana Cavalcanti, UK
    * Antonio Cerone, Macau SAR China (co-chair)
    * Dang Van Hung, Vietnam
    * Jim Davies, UK
    * David Deharbe, Brazil
    * Wan Fokkink, Netherlands
    * Pascal Fontaine, France
    * Marcelo Frias, Argentina
    * Lindsay Groves, New Zealand
    * Stefan Gruner, South Africa
    * Michael R. Hansen, Denmark
    * Rob Hierons, UK
    * Lynne Hunt, Australia
    * Moonzoo Kim, Korea
    * Coenraad Labuschagne, South Africa
    * Martin Leucker, Germany
    * Liu Zhiming, Macau SAR China
    * Patricia Machado, Brazil
    * Mieke Massink, Italy
    * Ali Mili, USA
    * Marius Minea, Romania
    * Tobias Nipkow, Germany
    * Ogawa Mizuhito, Japan
    * Odejobi Odetunji, Nigeria
    * Jose Oliveira, Portugal
    * Ekow Otoo, South Africa
    * Pekka Pihlajasaari, South Africa (co-chair)
    * Anders Ravn, Denmark
    * Francesca Pozzi, Italy
    * Markus Roggenbach, UK
    * Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
    * Bernhard Schtz, Germany
    * Gerardo Schneider, Sweden
    * Natarajan Shankar, USA
    * Marjan Sirjani, Iceland
    * Fausto Spoto, Italy
    * Clint van Alten, South Africa
    * Franck van Breugel, Canada
    * Govert van Drimmelen, South Africa
    * Daniel Varro, Hungary
    * Herbert Wiklicky, UK


    * Antonio Cerone, Macau SAR China
    * Coenraad Labuschagne, South Africa
    * Pekka Pihlajasaari, South Africa
    * David Sherwell, South Africa
    * Clint van Alten, South Africa


    * John Fitzgerald, UK
    * Martin Leucker, Germany
    * Liu Zhiming, Macau SAR China
    * Tobias Nipkow, Germany
    * Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
    * Natarajan Shankar, USA
    * Jim Woodcock, UK