Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: AISB 2011 Convention, 4-7 April 2011, York
Contact: OR

Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour (AISB) Convention 4-7 April 2011, York, UK

The AISB 2011 Programme Committee invites you to attend the convention from 4-7 April 2011 in the historical city of York, in the UK. 
The convention combines  a programme of peer reviewed research talks, invited plenary talks and invited symposium speakers  under the banner of 9 different symposia, covering a large diversity of topics from Computer Science, Psychology, Linguistics and Philosophy. 
The convention will be held in the brand new 500M campus extension of the University of York in Heslington East which includes state of the art conference facilities. 
A range of activities to accompany the convention is also being planned. 

York is a historic city that provides a range of cultural and sightseeing opportunities including the newly refurbished Yorkshire Museum, the York Art Gallery, which currently exhibits works by David Hockney, The National Railway Museum, and York Minster.  York is well connected to the rest of the UK and has excellent transport connections to major airports.

INVITED SPEAKERS                                                       

* Alan Baddeley (University of York, UK), Tue, 5 April 2011
* Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh, UK), Tue, 5 April 2011
* Stephen Wolfram (Wolfram Research, USA), Wed, 6 April 2011
* Katie Slocombe (University of York, UK), Thur, 7 April 2011  

1 	Social Networks and Multiagent Systems (SNAMAS)Monday and Tuesday, 4 and 5 April 2011  
2 	Human Memory for Artificial Agents Monday and Tuesday, 4 and 5 April 2011  
3 	Active Vision 	Tuesday, 5 April 2011  
4 	Towards a Comprehensive Intelligence Test (TCIT) Tuesday, 5 April 2011  
5 	Computational Models of Cognitive Development 	Tuesday, 5 April 2011 
6 	Machine Consciousness 	Wednesday and Thursday, 6 and 7 April 2011  
7 	AI and Games 	Wednesday and Thursday, 6 and 7 April 2011  
8 	Computing and Philosophy 	Wednesday and Thursday, 6 and 7 April 2011  
9 	Learning Language Models from Multilingual Corpora (LLMMC) 	Wednesday, 6 April 2011  

Registration is via the AISB web site:


Convenient on-campus accommodation can also be booked from the registration Web site on the first-come, first-served basis.

Please address your queries to the convention chairs:

Dimitar Kazakov,
George Tsoulas,