CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: "Algorithmic Learning Theory", 5-7 Oct 2011, FINLAND

22nd International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT), Aalto University, Espoo, Helsinki

The 22nd International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory 
(ALT 2011,
will be held at Aalto University in Espoo, Finland, October 5-7, 2011. The conference is 
on the theoretical foundations of machine learning. The conference will be co-located with
the 14th International Conference on Discovery Science (DS 2011,

Topics of Interest: We invite submissions that make a wide variety of contributions to the
theory of learning, including the following:
   * Comparison of the strength of learning models and the design and
     evaluation of novel algorithms for learning problems in
     established learning-theoretic settings such as
         o statistical learning theory,
         o on-line learning,
         o inductive inference,
         o query models,
         o unsupervised, semi-supervised and active learning.
   * Analysis of the theoretical properties of existing algorithms:
         o families of algorithms could include
               + boosting,
               + kernel-based methods, SVM,
               + Bayesian networks,
               + methods for reinforcement learning or learning in
                 repeated games,
               + graph- and/or manifold-based methods,
               + methods for latent-variable estimation and/or clustering,
               + MDL,
               + decision tree methods,
               + information-based methods,
         o analyses could include generalization, convergence or
           computational efficiency.
   * Definition and analysis of new learning models. Models might
         o identify and formalize classes of learning problems
           inadequately addressed by existing theory or
         o capture salient properties of important concrete applications.

Invited Talks. The two distinguished invited speakers for ALT 2011 are professor Peter Auer 
(University of Leoben) and professor Jorma Rissanen (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology).
In addition there will be one invited speaker jointly with DS 2011.

Submission. Authors can submit their papers electronically.
Detailed instructions will be available on the conference web page.

Important Dates.
   * Submission deadline: May 18, 2011 (you may submit for as long as
     it is May 18, 2011 anywhere in the world)
   * Notification of acceptance or rejection will be emailed to the
     submitting author by June 30, 2011.
   * The camera-ready copy of accepted papers will be due July 10, 2011.

Format. The submitted paper should be no longer than 15 pages in the standard format for 
Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series. The 15 page limit includes
title, abstract, acknowledgments, references, illustrations and any other parts of the paper; 
appendices bypassing the page limit are not allowed.

Policy. Each submitted paper will be reviewed by the members of the program committee and be 
judged on clarity, significance and originality. Joint submissions to other conferences with 
published proceedings are not allowed. Papers that have appeared in journals or other conferences
are not appropriate for ALT 2011.

Proceedings. All accepted papers will be published as a volume in the Lecture Notes in Artificial
Intelligence, Springer-Verlag, and will be available at the conference. Full versions of selected 
papers of ALT 2011 will be invited to a special issue of the journal Theoretical Computer Science.

E.M. Gold Award. One scholarship will be awarded to a student author of an excellent paper
(please mark student submissions on the title page).

Conference Chair: Esko Ukkonen, University of Helsinki, Finland

Programme Committee:
   Jyrki Kivinen (Chair), University of Helsinki, Finland
   Csaba Szepesvari (Chair), University of Alberta, Canada
   Dana Angluin, Yale University
   Jean-Yves Audibert, Universite Paris Est
   Shai Ben-David, University of Waterloo
   Avrim Blum, Carnegie Mellon University
   Nader Bshouty, Technion
   John Case, University of Delaware
   Ricard Gavalda, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
   Andras Gyorgy, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
   Sanjay Jain, National University of Singapore
   Gabor Lugosi, Pompeu Fabra University
   Remi Munos, INRIA
   Ronald Ortner, University of Leoben
   John Shawe-Taylor, University College London
   Hans Ulrich Simon, Ruhr-Universitat Bochum
   Frank Stephan, National University of Singapore
   Eiji Takimoto, Kyushu University
   Vladimir Vovk, Royal Holloway, University of London
   Akihiro Yamamoto, Kyoto University
   Sandra Zilles, University of Regina

Local Arrangement Chair: Olli Simula, Aalto University, Finland