AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: "Logic and Computational Complexity", 25 June 2011, CANADA
Contact: OR

12th International Workshop on Logic and Computational Complexity (LCC'11), Toronto, Canada - affiliated meeting of LiCS'11 (

LCC meetings are aimed at the foundational interconnections between logic and computational 
complexity, as present, for example,  in implicit computational complexity (descriptive and 
type-theoretic methods); deductive formalisms as they relate to complexity (e.g. ramification,
weak comprehension, bounded arithmetic, linear logic and resource logics); complexity aspects
of finite model theory and databases; complexity-mindful program derivation and verification; 
computational complexity at higher type; and proof complexity.

The LCC'11 program will consist of invited lectures as well as contributed papers selected by 
the program committee.  This year there will be no published proceedings, and we welcome informal
presentations about work in progress, survey papers, as well as work submitted or published
elsewhere, provided all pertinent information is disclosed at submission time.  Submissions in 
the form of an extended abstract of approx. 5 pages are welcome. If full papers are submitted, 
they should not exceed 15 pages.  Proposed papers should be uploaded to by 20 April 2011.


Paper submission deadline:       20 April
Authors' notification:           10 May
LCC'11 workshop:                 25 June

For additional information see
or, or email inquiries to or 
Further information about previous LCC meetings can be found at


     * Ulrich Berger (Swansea, Co-Chair)
     * Denis Therien (McGill Montreal, Co-Chair)
     * Klaus Aehlig (Southampton)
     * Arnold Beckmann (Swansea)
     * Guillaume Bonfante (LORIA Nancy)
     * Ugo Dal Lago (Bologna)
     * Phuong Nguyen (McGill Montreal)
     * Luca Roversi (Torino)
     * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund)
     * Howard Straubing (Boston College)
     * Kazushige Terui (Kyoto)
     * Heribert Vollmer (Hanover)

STEERING COMMITTEE: Michael Benedikt (Oxford, Co-chair), Daniel Leivant (Indiana U, Co-chair), 
Robert Constable (Cornell), Anuj Dawar (Cambridge), Fernando Ferreira (Lisbon), Martin Hofmann
(U Munich), Neil Immerman (U Mass. Amherst), Neil Jones (Copenhagen), Bruce Kapron (U Victoria),
Stefan Kreutzer (Oxford), Jean-Yves Marion (LORIA Nancy), Luke Ong (Oxford), Martin Otto 
(Darmstadt), James Royer (Syracuse), Helmut Schwichtenberg (U Munich), and Pawel Urzyczyn (Warsaw)