CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: "Web Reasoning and Rule Systems, 29-30 Aug 2011, IRELAND

RR 2011 -the Fifth International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems, Galway, Ireland

The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning Web Reasoning and Rule Systems. RR 2011 builds on the success of the four previous International Conferences on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (see, held in Innsbruck, Austria (2007), Karlsruhe, Germany (2008), and Chantilly, Virginia, USA(2009), Bressanone/ Brixen, Italy (2010), and which received enthusiastic support from the Web Reasoning community. In 2011, RR will continue the excellence of the new series and aim to attract the best WebReasoning and Rules researchers from all over the world. Moreover, this year's conference will be co-located with the 7th Reasoning Web Summer School (23-27 Aug, cf. for details) which is a great opportunity particularly for young researchers to combine with attendance of the conference. Poster submissions by summer school participants are particularly encouraged.


   * Representation techniques for Web-based knowledge
   * Acquisition of rules and ontologies by knowledge extraction
   * Combining open and closed-world reasoning
   * Combining rules and ontologies
   * Design and analysis of reasoning languages
   * Efficiency and benchmarking
   * Implemented tools and systems
   * Foundations and applications related to relevant standardization bodies
   * Ontology usability
   * Ontology languages and their relationships
   * Querying and optimization
   * Rules and ontology management (such as inconsistency handling and evolution)
   * Reasoning with uncertainty and under inconsistency
   * Reasoning with constraints
   * Rule languages and systems
   * Rule interchange formats and Rule markup languages
   * Scalability vs. expressivity of reasoning on the Web
   * Approximate reasoning techniques for the Web
   * Integration of statistical methods and symbolic reasoning
   * Stream reasoning
   * Semantic Web Services modeling and applications
   * Web and Semantic Web applications and experience papers


The conference proceedings will be published within Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. After the conference, selected papers from the conference will be invited to submit extended versions to a special issue of the (IOS Press) journal "Semantic Web - Interoperability, Usability, Applicability".

==Submission of Papers==

Submissions must be typeset using the Springer LaTeX2e style llncs for Lecture Notes in Computer Science (see, and must be in PDF format. Submission is via EasyChair ( The length should not exceed 15 pages for full papers. We also solicit poster papers (accompanying a poster to be presented at the conference's poster session) as well as system descriptions (for proposed system demos at the conference), both with an upper limit of 6 pages. The stated lengths include title, abstract, and references. Poster papers and system descriptions should be clearly marked as such in the title and in the easychair submission system. Submissions that deviate substantially from these guidelines may be rejected without review. Original research and application papers are welcome; submissions will especially be judged for originality and scientific quality. All accepted papers, posters, and system descriptions will be included in the proceedings.

==Important Dates==

Abstract submission:      April 20, 2011
Full paper submission:  April 27, 2011
Notification of acceptance: June 3, 2011

==Invited Speakers==

Marie-Laure Mugnier
LIRMM (CNRS and University of Montpellier), France

Marcelo Arenas
Pontificia Universidad Catlica de Chile, Santiago, Chile


* General chair
  - Heiner Stuckenschmidt

* Program chairs
  - Sebastian Rudolph
  - Claudio Gutierrez

* Local Chair
  - Axel Polleres

* Sponsorship Chair
  - Krzysztof Janowicz

* Program committee
  - Marcelo Arenas
  - Jean-Franois Baget
  - Andrea Cali
  - Vinay Chaudhri
  - Claudia D'Amato
  - Sergio Flesca
  - Georg Gottlob
  - Stijn Heymans
  - Rinke Hoekstra
  - Giovambattista Ianni
  - Domenico Lembo
  - Francesca Alessandra Lisi
  - Thomas Lukasiewicz
  - Wolfgang May
  - Boris Motik
  - Ralf Mller
  - Andrea Pugliese
  - Guilin Qi
  - Alan Ruttenberg
  - Umberto Straccia
  - Terrance Swift
  - Sergio Tessaris