Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CONFERENCE: "Philosophy in an Age of Science": 31 May - 3 Jun 2011, USA

Hilary Putnam Conference, "Philosophy in an Age of Science: A Conference in Honor of Hilary Putnam's 85th Birthday" -Cambridge MA (U.S.A.)

The first and fourth day of the conference will be at 105 Emerson Hall, Harvard University; 
the second and third day of the conference will be at Brandeis University.  Registration includes
bus taking people to and from Harvard and Brandeis Universities

Speakers who accepted Invitation

David Albert, Columbia University
Paul Benacerraf, Princeton University, Emeritus Alan Berger, Brandeis University, Visiting Professor
at Harvard University Anat Biletzki, Tel Aviv University Ned Block, NYU Richard Boyd, Cornell 
University Mario de Caro, University of Roma Tre, Italy Stanley Cavell, Harvard University, Emeritus
Gary Ebbs, Indiana University Jerry Fodor, Rutgers University Paul Franks, University of Toronto 
Harvey Friedman,  Ohio State University Maximillian de Gaynesford, Cardiff, England Warren Goldfarb,
Harvard University Richard Healey, Univeristy of Arizona Geoffrey Hellman, University of Minnesota
Hilla Jacobson, University of Tel Aviv, Israel David Macarthur, Univeristy of Sydney, Australia Tim
Maudlin, Rutgers University Martha Nussbaum, University of Chicago Charles Parson, Harvard University
Carl Posy, Hebrew University Ruth Anna Putnam, Wellesley College, Emerita Nathan Salmon, UCSB Tim 
Scanlon, Harvard University Ben-Ami Scharfstein, Tel Aviv University, Israel Charles Travis, 
University of London, England

Conference registration is ; Students 

Registration includes two lunches, one evening reception at the Harvard Faculty Club, and a bus 
shuttle to and from Harvard and Brandeis Universities.

For further information, please contact: Also there will be a website
set up at:

*This project was made possible through the support of a grant from the John Templeton Foundation,
The Slater Foundation, and Harvard and Brandeis Universities.  The opinions expressed at this 
conference are those of the authors(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of any of the 
sponsors above.