Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: Logic in computer Science, June 21-24, 2011, CANADA

26th Annual IEEE Symposium on LOGIC IN COMPUTER SCIENCE (LICS 2011), Toronto, Canada

LICS 2011 will be held at the Fields Institute on the campus of the University of Toronto in 
Toronto, Ontario, Canada, from June 21st to the 24th, 2011.

Registration for LICS is open. For online registration follow the link to

Early registration at reduced rates will be available till 31 May 2011.

A list of hotels with blocks of rooms reserved at reduced rates for LICS participants can be found 

Rooms are reserved till the end of may, with different dates for the various hotels.


A preliminary programme can be found at

The LICS Symposium is an annual international forum on theoretical and practical topics in computer
science that relate to logic broadly construed. We invite submissions on topics that fit under that
rubric. Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include:
automata theory, automated deduction, categorical models and logics, concurrency and distributed 
computation, constraint programming, constructive mathematics, database theory, description logics,
domain theory, finite model theory, formal aspects of program analysis, formal methods, 
higher-order logic, hybrid systems, lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic, logical aspects 
of bioinformatics, logical aspects of computational complexity, logical aspects of quantum 
computation, logical frameworks, logic in artificial intelligence, logics of programs, logic 
programming, modal and temporal logics, model checking, probabilistic systems, process calculi, 
programming language semantics, proof theory, reasoning about security, rewriting, type systems 
and type theory, and verification.

Tutorial Day:
  At LICS 2011, we will start a series of tutorials on the core areas
  of logic in computer science. Rather than focussing on a specialised
  topic, these tutorials will highlight the basic questions, techniques
  and motivation of a broader area. The tutorials are aimed to be
  accessible to all LICS participants. In 2011, we will have two
  half-day tutorials on Finite Model Theory and Semantics respectively,
  to be held on June 20.
  The speakers will be
   * Albert Atserias (UPC Barcelona) on Finite Model Theory and
   * Prakash Panangaden (McGill University, Montreal) on Semantics.

Invited Speakers:
  * Naoki Kobayashi, Tohoku University
  * Andrei Krokhin, University of Durham
  * Toniann Pitassi, University of Toronto
  * Ashish Tiwari, SRI

Important Dates:
    * Early registration ends 31 May 2011
    * Conference:   21-24 June 2011

Program Chair:
  Martin Grohe, Humboldt Univ., Berlin

Program Committee:
  Eli Ben-Sasson, Technion, Haifa
  Patrick Baillot, CNRS & ENS, Lyon
  Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, ENS, Cachan
  Balder ten Cate, UC Santa Cruz
  Thierry Coquand,  Univ. of Gothenburg
  Victor Dalmau, UPF, Barcelona
  Jose Desharnais, Univ. Laval, Qubec
  Kousha Etessami, Univ. of Edinburgh
  Philippa Gardner, Imperial College, London
  Rob van Glabbeek, NICTA, Sydney
  Guillem Godoy, UPC, Barcelona
  Martin Grohe, HU Berlin
  Martin Hofmann,  LMU Munich
  Vineet Kahlon, NEC Labs, Princeton
  Stephan Kreutzer, Univ. of Oxford
  Dale Miller, INRIA, Saclay
  Leonardo de Moura, Microsoft Research, Redmond
  Luke Ong, Univ. of Oxford
  Benjamin Rossman,  MIT, Cambridge
  Davide Sangiorgi, Univ. of Bologna
  Luc Segoufin, INRIA & ENS, Cachan
  Matt Valeriote, McMaster Univ., Hamilton
  Andrei Voronkov, Univ. of Manchester
  Igor Walukiewicz, Univ. of Bordeaux
  Thomas Wilke, Univ. of Kiel

Kleene Award for Best Student Paper:
  An award in honour of the late S.~C.~Kleene will be given for the
  best student paper, as judged by the program committee.  Details
  concerning eligibility criteria and procedure for consideration for
  this award will be posted at the LICS website. The program committee
  may decline to make the award or may split it among several papers.

Special Issue:
  Full versions of upto 3 accepted papers, to be selected by the
  program committee, will be invited for submission to the Journal of
  the ACM. Additional selected papers will be invited to the special
  issue of the open-access journal Logical Methods in Computer Science.

Affiliated Workshops:
  As in previous years, there will be a number of workshops affiliated
  with LICS 2011; information  will be posted at the LICS website.

Conference Co-Chairs:
  * Benoit Larose, Champlain Regional College
  * Matt Valeriote, McMaster Univ., Hamilton

Workshops Co-Chairs:
  * Adriana Compagnoni, Stevens Inst. of Technology, New-Jersey
  * Maribel Fernndez, King's College London

Publicity Co-Chairs:
  * Andrzej Murawski, Univ. of Leicester
  * Stephan Kreutzer, Univ. of Oxford

  * Martn Escard, Univ. of Birmingham

General Chair:
  * Rajeev Alur
    Univ. of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Organizing Committee:
Martn Abadi, Rajeev Alur (chair), Paul Beame, Maria Paola Bonacina, Samuel Buss, Edmund M. Clarke, Adriana Compagnoni, Martn Escard, Maribel Fernndez, Lance Fortnow, Jrgen Giesl, Martin Grohe, Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, Phokion Kolaitis, Stephan Kreutzer, Benoit Larose, Johann (Janos) A. Makowsky, Burkard Monien, Andrzej Murawski, Jens Palsberg, Andrew Pitts, Philip Scott, Matt Valeriote

Advisory Board:
Martn Abadi, Samson Abramsky, Yuri Gurevich, Thomas A. Henzinger, Claude Kirchner, Phokion Kolaitis, Dexter Kozen, Ursula Martin, John Mitchell, Luke Ong, Leszek Pacholski, Gordon Plotkin, Andre Scedrov, Moshe Y. Vardi, Glynn Winskel

  The symposium is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on
  Mathematical Foundations of Computing in cooperation with the
  Association for Symbolic Logic, the European Association for
  Theoretical Computer Science, and the Fields Institute.