Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: 4WPI: Fourth Workshop on the Philosophy of Information, 10-11 May 2012, Hatfield, UK

Submissions are invited for the Fourth Workshop on the Philosophy of Information, which will take 
place at the University of Hertfordshire,10-11 May 2012. The topic this year will be the 
intersections between PI, epistemology and philosophical semantics.

The authors of the selected papers will be eligible for bursaries that will cover transportation, 
accommodation and subsistence. Bursaries will be awarded on the basis of need and scientific merit.

The current list of participants includes:

Stephan Hartmann
Gregory Wheeler

Patrick Allo
Simon D'Alfonso
Hilmi Demir
Luciano Floridi
Nir Fresco
Phyllis Illari
Mark Jago
Giuseppe Primiero
Sebastian Sequoiah-Grayson
Sonja Smets
Matteo Turilli
Orlin Vakarelov

Please send your submission to
Mrs Penny Driscoll >

Best regards,



Luciano Floridi |

Professor of Philosophy of Information, University of Hertfordshire UNESCO Chair in Information 
and Computer Ethics Fellow of St Cross College, Oxford Director of the Oxford Information Ethics 
research Group