CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: Structural Information & Communication Complexity, 30 June - 2 July 2012, Reykjavik, ICELAND


Important dates
Submission deadline: Monday, 27 February, 2012 (23:59 EDT) Author notification: 31 March, 2012 
Camera-ready submission: 21 April, 2012 Conference dates: 30 June - 2 July, 2012

SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge in multi-processor systems from 
both the qualitative and quantitative viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative 
approaches and fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current designs.

SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive scientific meetings in a relaxed and 
pleasant atmosphere, attracting leading researchers in a variety of fields in which communication 
and knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in Reykjavik, Iceland.


Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local structural knowledge and global 
communication and computational complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing, 
communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social networks, mobile computing 
(including autonomous robots), peer to peer systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant 
graph theories, and randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. 
Keeping up with the tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome.


The Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing is awarded annually in the SIROCCO conference to 
recognize individuals whose research contributions had a major impact on the understanding of the 
relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized computing. Only authors of 
papers that were published in SIROCCO are eligible to receive the award. More details are 
available in the SIROCCO 2012 web site.

Invited talks
To be announced.


Full papers are to be submitted electronically using the EasyChair server. 
The link is
Submission guidelines are available in the conference web page.

Authors are invited to submit their work in one of the three acceptable
formats: novel research contributions, position papers, and surveys. 
Original research papers must contain results that have not previously appeared and have not been 
concurrently submitted to a journal or conference with published proceedings. In all cases, any 
partial overlap with any published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated.

Submissions are limited to 12 single-column pages on letter/A4-size paper (using at least 11 point 
font, 1 inch margins, standard line spacing). 
This includes figures, but excludes references and an optional appendix (to be read at the program 
committee's discretion).

As in previous years, the proceedings of SIROCCO 2012 are planned to be published by 
Springer-Verlag as a volume of the LNCS series. Selected papers are planned to be invited to a 
special issue of the journal Theoretical Computer Science.

Conference Organization

Program Committee:

Dimitris Achlioptas, UCSC
James Aspnes, Yale U.
Nikhil Bansal, TU Eindhoven
Thomas Erlebach, Leicester U.
Guy Even, Tel-Aviv U. (co-chair)
Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U. (co-chair) Fabian Kuhn, USI Stefano Leonardi, Sapienza U.
Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Osaka U.
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, U. Paderborn Sriram V. Pemmaraju, U Iowa Harald Raecke, TU Munich 
Ignasi Sau, LIRMM Thomas Sauerwald, MPI Informatik Christian Schindelhauer, U. Freiburg Hadas 
Shachnai, Technion Christian Sohler, TU Dortmund Subhash Suri, UCSB Philippas Tsigas, U Gothenburg 
Shmuel Zaks, Technion

Steering Committee:

Ralf Klasing, Universite Bordeaux, France Shay Kutten, Technion, Israel (Chair) Boaz Patt-Shamir, 
Tel-Aviv University, Israel Alex Shvartsman, MIT and Univ. of Connecticut, USA Masafumi Yamashita, 
Kyushu University, Japan

Local Arrangement Chair
Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U., Iceland

Publicity Chair
Yvonne Anne Pignolet,  ABB Corporate Research