Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

1st ANNOUNCEMENT: Colloquium Logicum 2012, 13-15 Sep 2012, Paderborn, GERMANY

The Colloquium Logicum is organized every two years by the "Deutsche
Vereinigung fuer Mathematische Logik und fuer Grundlagenforschung der
Exakten Wissenschaften" (DVMLG).

The year 2012 is the Alan Turing Year, marking the 100th birthday of the
father of the computer. The Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum is not only hosting
this conference, but also the special exhibition GENIAL UND GEHEIM on
Turing's life and achievements. CL 2012 is part of the world-wide Alan
Turing Year 2012. In addition to the Turing celebrations, the DVMLG
celebrates its own 50th anniversary.

Beyond the focus on Alan Turing and the history and philosophy of computing,
the conference will cover the whole range of mathematical logic and the
foundations of the exact sciences, in particular, logic in philosophy,
computer science and artificial intelligence.

Liesbeth De Mol (Universiteit Gent. Gent, Belgium)
Mirna Dzamonja (University of East Anglia. Norwich, U.K.)
Helena Durnova (Masarykova Univerzita. Brno, Czech Republic)
Salma  Kuhlmann (Universitaet Konstanz. Konstanz, Germany)
Andy Lewis (University of Leeds. Leeds, U.K.)
Thomas Mueller (Universiteit Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands)
Michael Rathjen (University of Leeds. Leeds, U.K.)
Jean Paul Van Bendeghem (Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Brussels, Belgium)

In addition to the keynote talks, there will be a "PhD Colloquium" with
invited presentations of excellent recent PhD graduates. A Call for Papers
for contributed talks will be issued in early 2012.

Mark Bishop (London, U.K.)
Zoe Chatzidakis (Paris, France)
Peter Koepke (Bonn, Germany)
Steffen Lempp (Madison WI, U.S.A.)
Benedikt Loewe (Amsterdam, The Netherlands & Hamburg, Germany)
Volker Peckhaus (Paderborn, Germany)
Pavel Pudlak (Prague, Czech Republic) 
Erhard Scholz (Wuppertal, Germany)

Alan Turing Year 2012:

CL 2012: