Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: Computer Science Logic, 3-6 Sep 2012, Fontainebleau , FRANCE



Inportant dates :

Abstract submission : April 2, 2012

Paper submission : April 9, 2012

Notification : June 9, 2012

Final version : June 29, 2012

Computer Science Logic (CSL) is the annual conference of the European Association for Computer 
Science Logic. The conference is intended for computer scientists whose research activities 
involve logic, as well as for logicians working on issues significant for computer science.

Topics of interests include (but are not limited to):

- automated deduction and interactive theorem proving

- constructive mathematics and type theory

- equational logic and term rewriting

- automata and games, game semantics

- modal and temporal logic

- model checking

- decision procedures

- logical aspects of computational complexity

- finite model theory

- computational proof theory

- bounded arithmetic and propositional proof complexity

- logic programming and constraints

- lambda calculus and combinatory logic

- domain theory

- categorical logic and topological semantics

- database theory

- specification, extraction and transformation of programs

- logical aspects of quantum computing

- logical foundations of programming paradigms

- verification and program analysis

- linear logic

- higher-order logic

- nonmonotonic reasoning

Invited talks:

- Serge Abiteboul (INRIA, Cachan)

- Stephen Cook (Toronto)

- Ins Lynce (Lisbon)

- Janos Makowsky (Technion, Haifa)

Program Committee:

- Jeremy Avigad (Carnegie Mellon, Pittsburgh, USA)

- Arnold Beckmann (Swansea, UK)

- Nikolaj Bjorner (Microsoft, Redmond, USA)

- Julian Bradfield (Edimburgh, UK)

- Thomas Brihaye (Mons, Belgium)

- Patrick Cgielski (UPEC, France, co-chair)

- Victor Dalmau  (Barcelona, Spain)

- Jose Desharnais (Laval, Canada)

- Mariangiola Dezani (Torino, Italy)

- Gilles Dowek (INRIA, Paris-Rocquencourt, France)

- Arnaud Durand (Paris, France, co-chair)

- Nicola Galesi (Roma, Italy)

- Laura Kovacs  (TU Vienna, Austria)

- Antonin Kucera (Brno, Czech Republic)

- Viktor Kuncak (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)

- Daniel Leivant (Indiana, USA)

- Markus Lohrey (Leipzig, Germany)

- Alexandre Miquel (ENS Lyon, France)

- Filip Murlak (Warsaw, Poland)

- Prakash Panangaden (Mc Gill, Montreal, Canada)

- Nicole Schweikardt (Frankfurt, Germany)

- Sam Staton (Cambridge, UK)

- Miroslaw Truszczynski (Kentucky, USA)

- Helmut Veith (TU Vienna, Austria)

- Frank Wolter (Liverpool, UK)

Co-chairs of the organizing committee:

- Patrick Cegielski (UPEC)

- Pierre Valarcher (UPEC)