Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB event Bulletin Item

2nd CALL FOR PAPERS: Fourth French PhilMath Workshop, Oct 4- 6, 2012 Paris, FRANCE

FPMW 4 (formerly Paris-Nancy PhilMath Workshop) Collge de France & cole Normale Suprieure

This is the fourth in an annual series of workshops on the philosophy of mathematics organized by 
a team of scholars in France and elsewhere. The three-day meeting will feature both invited and 
contributed talks. The invited speakers, who have confirmed their participation, are:

*** Mic Detlefsen (Notre Dame University, South Bend)
*** Sbastien Gandon (Universit Blaise Pascal, Clermont-Ferrand)
*** Gerhard Heinzmann (Archives Henri Poincar, Nancy)
*** Hannes Leitgeb (Universitt Mnchen)
*** Jean-Pierre Marquis (Universit de Montral)
*** Vladimir Voevodsky (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)

Second Call for papers

Deadline for submission: July 14, 2012
Notification of acceptance: July 30, 2012

The program will include six contributed talks. Submissions of full-text papers in any topic in 
the philosophy of mathematics are welcome. The languages of the workshop are English and French. 
Presentations should be no longer than 45 minutes, and will be followed by 30 minutes of discussion.
Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are particularly encouraged 
to submit, as the workshop provides them with an opportunity to discuss their work with experts 
from around the world. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2012.
Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged by email. The Program Committee will evaluate all 
papers and announce its decisions by July 30, 2012. The papers should be sent by email in doc, 
rtf, or pdf format to the following address: Mark (dot) vanAtten (at) univ-paris1 (dot) fr

This workshop is supported by the Collge de France (Paris), IHPST (Paris), SPHERE (Paris), 
Universit Paris 10, Archives Henri Poincar (Nancy), Universit Blaise Pascal (Clermont-Ferrand)

Scientific Committee: Andrew Arana, Mark van Atten, Denis Bonnay, Paola Cant, Gabriella Crocco, 
Michael Detlefsen, Jacques Dubucs, Sebastien Gandon, Brice Halimi, Gerhard Heinzmann, Paolo Mancosu,
Philippe Nabonnand, Marco Panza, Fabrice Pataut, David Rabouin, Andrei Rodin, Stewart Shapiro, 
Ivahn Smadja,  Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz, Claudine Tiercelin, Sean Walsh

Local organisers: Mark van Atten, Brice Halimi, Denis Bonnay, Fabrice Pataut, Marco Panza, Ivahn 
Smadja, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz