AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: Foundations of Software Technology and Theoretical Computer Science, 15-17 Dec 2012, Hyderabad, INDIA



Authors are invited to submit papers presenting original and unpublished research in any area of 
Theoretical Computer Science or Foundational aspects of Software Technology.

Representative areas include, but are not limited to:

     * Algorithms and data structures, including randomized and
       approximation algorithms, distributed algorithms, geometry,
       online and streaming algorithms, fixed-parameter algorithms,
       graph algorithms, algorithmic game theory
     * Automata and formal languages
     * Combinatorial optimization
     * Computational complexity, including circuits, communication,
       derandomization, PCPs, inapproximability, proof complexity,
       structural complexity
     * Concurrent, timed and hybrid systems
     * Cryptography and security
     * Logic in computer science, including finite model theory, modal
       and temporal logics, specification, verification, and synthesis
     * Programming languages, including semantics, types, program
       analysis and correctness

Invited Speakers

Dimitris Achlioptas (UC Santa Cruz)
Mikolaj Bojanczyk (Institute of Informatics, Warsaw University) Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft 
Research, Redmond) Jiri Matousek (Charles University, Prague) Madhusudan Parthasarathy (Univ. of 
Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Yuval Rabani (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Submissions will be in electronic form via the EasyChair site 
(  Submissions are restricted to 12 pages using 
the LIPIcs LaTeX style file (see  Proofs 
omitted due to space constraints must be put into an appendix to be read by the program committee 
members/reviewers at their discretion.  Authors should upload pdf files generated using the style file.

Concurrent submissions are not allowed until accept/reject notification (or submission of the 
final version, if the submission is accepted at FSTTCS).

Important Dates

Submission deadline:     July 13, 2012 (Anywhere-on-Earth Time).
Notification to authors: September 12, 2012.
Final version due:       October 10, 2012.
Conference:              December 15-17, 2012.


Accepted papers will be published as the proceedings of the Conference in the Leibniz International
Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) (see as a free, open, 
electronic archive with access to all. Authors will retain full rights over their work.  The 
accepted papers will be licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative
Works 2.5 License (see

For an accepted paper to be included in the proceedings, one of the authors must commit to 
presenting the paper at the conference.

Program Committee

Nikhil Bansal (TU Eindhoven)
Surender Baswana (IIT Kanpur)
Sourav Chakraborty (CMI, Chennai)
Thomas Colcombet (LIAFA, Paris)
Amit Deshpande (Microsoft Research, Bangalore) Volker Diekert (University of Stuttgart) Deepak 
D'Souza (IISc, Bangalore) Co-Chair Chien-Chung Huang (Humboldt-University, Berlin) Rahul Jain 
(NUS, Singapore) Kishore Kothapalli (IIIT, Hyderabad) Stefan Kratsch (University of Utrecht) Steve 
Kremer (INRIA Nancy and LORIA Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Oxford) Christof Loeding (RWTH, 
Aachen) Rupak Majumdar (MPI-SWS, Kaiserslautern) Oded Maler (VERIMAG, Grenoble) Nicolas Markey 
(LSV, Cachan) Aranyak Mehta (Google Research) Madhavan Mukund (CMI, Chennai) Anca Muscholl (LABRI, 
Bordeaux) Sanjiva Prasad (IIT Delhi) Jaikumar Radhakrishnan (TIFR, Mumbai) Co-Chair Harald Raecke 
(TU Munich) G. Ramalingam (Microsoft Research, Bangalore) Saurabh Ray (MPI, Saarbruecken) Rahul 
Santhanam (University of Edinburgh) Shubhangi Saraf (IAS Princeton) Anil Seth (IIT Kanpur) Nikhil 
Srivastava (Princeton/CCI) Kavitha Telikepalli (TIFR, Mumbai) Co-Chair Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH, 
Aachen) Mahesh Viswanathan (Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Organising Committee

R K Bagga (IIIT Hyderabad) Chair
Bruhadeshwar Bezawada (IIIT Hyderabad)
Ashok Kumar Das (IIIT Hyderabad)
Kishore Kothapalli (IIIT Hyderabad)
P J Narayanan (IIIT Hyderabad)
Suresh Purini (IIIT Hyderabad)

For further details see the conference website at