Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS: Logical Foundations of Computer Science, 6-8 Jan 2013, San Diego CA (U.S.A.)


LFCS 2013

The LFCS series provides an outlet for the fast-growing body of work in the logical foundations of 
computer science, e.g., areas of fundamental theoretical logic related to computer science. The 
LFCS series began with Logic at Botik, Pereslavl-Zalessky, 1989, and was co-organized by Albert R. 
Meyer (MIT) and  Michael Taitslin (Tver), after which organization passed to Anil Nerode.

Conference page: http://lfcs.info/lfcs13/

LFCS Steering Committee: Anil Nerode - General Chair, Stephen Cook, Dirk van Dalen, Yuri 
Matiyasevich, J. Alan Robinson, Gerald Sacks, Dana Scott.

LFCS Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
constructive mathematics and type theory; logic, automata and automatic structures; computability 
and randomness; logical foundations of programming; logical aspects of computational complexity; 
logic programming and constraints; automated deduction and interactive theorem proving; logical 
methods in protocol and program verification; logical methods in program specification and 
extraction; domain theory logic; logical foundations of database theory;  equational logic and 
term rewriting; lambda and combinatory calculi; categorical logic and topological semantics; 
linear logic; epistemic and temporal logics;  intelligent and multiple agent system logics; 
logics of proof and justification; nonmonotonic reasoning; logic in game theory and social 
software; logic of hybrid systems; distributed system logics; mathematical fuzzy logic; system 
design logics; other logics in computer science.

LFCS 2013 Program Committee: Sergei Artemov (New York) - PC Chair; Steve Awodey (CMU); Alexandru 
Baltag (Oxford); Andreas Blass (Ann Arbor); Samuel Buss (San Diego); Walter Dean (Warwick); 
Rod Downey (Wellington, NZ); Ruy de Queiroz (Recife, Brazil); Antonio Montalban (Chicago); 
Rosalie Iemhoff (Ultrecht); Bakhadyr Khoussainov (Auckland, NZ); Roman Kuznets (Bern); Lawrence 
Moss (Bloomington, IN); Robert Lubarsky (Florida Atlantic University); Victor Marek (Lexington, KY);
Franco Montagna (Siena); Anil Nerode (Cornell) - General LFCS Chair; Mati Pentus (Moscow); Jeffrey 
Remmel (San Diego); Bryan Renne (Amsterdam); Philip Scott (Ottawa); Alex Simpson (Edinburgh); 
Sonja Smets (Groningen); Michael Rathjen (Leeds); Alasdair Urquhart (Toronto); Michael 
Zakharyashchev (London).

LFCS 2013 Local Organizing Committee: Jeff Remmel (Chair), Samuel Buss, Victor Marek.

Submission details. Proceedings will be published in the LNCS series.  There will be a 
post-conference volume of selected works published in the Annals of Pure and Applied Logic. 
Submissions should be made electronically via

Submitted papers must be in pdf/12pt format and of no more than 15 pages, present work not 
previously published, and must not be submitted concurrently to another conference with refereed 
proceedings. LFCS has established the best student paper award and named it after John Barkley 
Rosser Sr. (1907--1989), a prominent American logician with fundamental contributions in both 
Mathematics and Computer Science.

Important Dates:
Submissions deadline (firm): September 10, 2012;
Notification: October 5, 2012;
Final papers for proceedings: October 15, 2012; Symposium dates: January 6 - 8, 2013.

Victor W. Marek                                 Department of Computer Science
marek@cs.uky.edu                                        University of Kentucky
marek@cs.engr.uky.edu                                 Lexington, KY 40506-0046
859-257-3496 (office)                                     859-257-3961 (Dept)
http://www.cs.uky.edu/~marek                              859-323-1971 (FAX)