AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...


Lighthill Debates

The Lighthill debates from 1973 are now available on YouTube. You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video  



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: The Analysis of Theoretical Terms, April 3rd-5th, 2013, Munich, GERMANY

This conference is dedicated to the philosophical analysis of theoretical terms. Topics include 
the logic and semantics of our scientific theories, the epistemology and metaphysics of theoretical
terms, and the philosophical consequences of these analyses for the philosophy of science and 


We invite submissions for a 30-minute presentation. Submissions should be of an extended abstract 
(maximum of 1000 words), prepared for anonymous review. Authors should send their abstracts (pdf 
or doc), together with their name, institutional affiliation and current position to

Deadline for submissions is *1st December 2012*.

Selected presentations will be notified by *15th January 2013*

*Invited Speakers*

Holger Andreas (Munich); Demetra Christopoulou (Patras); William Demopoulos (Western Ontario); 
Jeffrey Ketland (Oxford); Hannes Leitgeb (Munich); Mary Leng (York); Sebastian Lutz (Utrecht); 
Michela Massimi (Edinburgh); Ulises Moulines (Munich); Gerhard Schurz (Dsseldorf); Charlotte 
Werndl (LSE); John Worrall (LSE);

*Organizing Committee
*Paul Dicken, Norbert Gratzl and Thomas Meier (MCMP Munich)