Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

2nd CALL FOR PAPERS: Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy, Groningen, THE NETHERLANDS

The Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy invites graduate 
students working in any field of theoretical philosophy (logic, 
epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, 
philosophy of mind) to present and discuss their research with fellow 
graduate students and experienced philosophers. The graduate conference is 
sponsored by Departments of Theoretical Philosophy in the Netherlands and 
by the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Groningen. It will be 
held by the University of Groningen from 18th to 20th April 2013.

We are very pleased to announce our four keynote speakers:

Patrick Blackburn (Roskilde)

John Dupr (Exeter)

Hannes Leitgeb (Munich)

Ruth Millikan (Connecticut)

Graduate students from in and outside the Netherlands are encouraged to 
submit abstracts for presentation of completed or ongoing work (20 minute 
presentation plus 10 minute discussion). Abstracts should be no longer 
than 500 words and prepared for blind review. One document should contain 
your abstract, the title of your presentation and the field of theoretical 
philosophy into which it belongs (logic, epistemology, metaphysics, 
philosophy of science, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind). The 
other document should include your contact details, including name, 
affiliation and email address. Please send both documents in pdf format 

The deadline for abstract submission is January 4, 2013. Notification of 
acceptance will be given by February 1.

The conference organizers:

Patryk Dziurosz-Serafinowicz

Ronnie Hermens

Franziska Kder

Pieter van der Kolk

Karolina Krzy?anowska

Bouke Kuijer

Paulien Snellen

Sander Verhaegh