Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: Foundations of Mathematics for Computer-Aided Formalization,), 9-11 Jan 2013, Padova, ITALY

We are pleased to announce the workshop ``Foundation of Mathematics for 
Computer-Aided Formalization'' to be held in Padova (Italy), 9-11 January 

For more information (motivations, registration, contributed talks) please 
refer to the webpage:

Invited speakers include:

     Thorsten Altenkirch (University of Nottingham, UK)
     Andrea Asperti (University of Bologna, Italy)
     Ulrich Berger (Swansea University, UK)
     Gilles Dowek (INRIA, Paris, France)
     Peter Dybjer (Chalmers University of Technology, Gteborg, Sweden)
     William M. Farmer (McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada)
     Herman Geuvers (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
     Georges Gonthier (Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK)
     Hugo Herbelin (INRIA, Paris, France)
     Fairouz Kamareddine (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK)
     Michael Kohlhase (Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany)
     Artur Kornilowicz (University of Bialystok, Poland)
     Zhaohui Luo (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)
     Erik Palmgren (Stockholm University, Sweden)
     Peter Schuster (University of Leeds, UK)
     Helmut Schwichtenberg (Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany)

The workshop is supported and/or sponsored by Department of Mathematics 
(University of Padova), Department of Computer Science and Engineering 
(University of Bologna), Italian Ministry of Education, University and 
Research (MIUR), Accademia Galileiana Padova.

The organizing committee

Francesco Ciraulo,
Maria Emilia Maietti,
Claudio Sacerdoti Coen,
Giovanni Sambin