Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB event Bulletin Item

FINAL CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: "Speech Acts and Arguments" Conference & Graduate School, 16-18 May 2013, Warsaw, POLAND

ArgDiaP 2013: the 10th ArgDiaP Conference "Speech Acts and Arguments"
18 May 2013, Warsaw Poland

IGSAR 2013: the 1st Interdisciplinary Graduate School on Argumentation and Rhetoric "Social 
Dynamics of Argument"
16-18 May 2013, Warsaw Poland


- programme and abstracts for the 10th ArgDiaP conference and the 1st IGSAR school
- new speaker: Prof. Manfred Stede (Discourse Research Lab, Potsdam University)
- the extension of the deadline for applying for grants supporting the attendance at IGSAR (3rd May)


ArgDiaP is the Polish nationwide initiative dedicated to argumentation, dialogue and persuasion. 
Since 2008, we have been organising a series of biannual one-day conference meetings. A collection 
of extended papers presented at the previous international ArgDiaP editions will be published as 
a special issue of Springer's journal "Argumentation" devoted to the Polish School of Argumentation
(vol. 3, 2014).

The 10th ArgDiaP conference is dedicated to speech act theory - one of the most prominent 
philosophical traditions which strongly influenced the study of communication and argumentation 
in the 20th century. The conference is co-organised in conjunction with a three-day graduate 
school IGSAR. Both events take place in Warsaw at the Polish Academy of Sciences and are 
supported by the European Network for Social Intelligence, Sintelnet.


Special guest
- John Searle (Dept. of Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley, US)

Other speakers
- Katarzyna Budzynska (Inst. of Philosophy and Sociology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
- Jacek Malinowski (Inst. of Philosophy and Sociology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
- Chris Reed (School of Computing, University of Dundee, UK)
- Patrick Saint-Dizier (Institut de Recherches en Informatique de Toulouse, IRIT, France)
- Manfred Stede (Discourse Research Lab, Potsdam University, Germany)
- Maciej Witek (Inst. of Philosophy, University of Szczecin, Poland)


Important dates
- Applications for grants to attend IGSAR (EXTENDED): 3 May
- Notification: 5 May
- Early registration: 8 May
- IGSAR school: 16-18 May
- ArgDiaP conference: 18 May


Organizing and Programme Committee
- Katarzyna Budzynska (Polish Academy of Sciences)
- Magdalena Kacprzak (Bialystok University of Technology)
- Marcin Koszowy (University of Bialystok)
- Olena Yaskorska (Polish Academy of Sciences)


For more information, see: