Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

1st CALL FOR PAPERS: Logic and Engineering of Natural Language Semantics, 27-28 Oct 2013, Kanagawa, JAPAN


Workshop Site : "Raiousha Building, Keio University"
                 Kanagawa, Japan.
Dates         : October 27-28, 2013
Contact Person: Shunsuke Yatabe (West Japan Railway Company)
Contact Email : lenls10[[at]]easychair.org
Website       : http://www.is.ocha.ac.jp/~bekki/lenls/


Chair:  Shunsuke Yatabe (West Japan Railway Company)
Co-chair: Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University
                          /National Institute of Informatics)
           Eric McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)

Invited Speaker(s):
-  (TBA)

LENLS is an annual international workshop on formal syntax,
semantics and pragmatics. It will be held as one of the workshops of
the fifth JSAI International Symposia on AI (isAI2013)
sponsored by the Japan Society for Artificial Intelligence (JSAI)

Aims and Topics:
We invite submissions to this year's workshop on topics in formal
semantics and pragmatics, and related fields, including but in no way
limited to the following:

- Dynamic syntax/semantics/pragmatics of natural language
- Categorical/topological/coalgebraic approaches for natural language
- Logic and its relation to natural language and linguistic reasoning
   (especially dynamic logics)
- Type-theoretic approaches to natural language
- Formal Philosophy of language
- Formal pragmatics (especially game-theoretic and utility-theoretic
- Substructural expansion of Lambek Lambda Calculi
- Many-valued/Fuzzy and other non-classical logics and natural language

Abstracts (up to 4 pages, including figures and references)
must be submitted electronically in PDF format at:


When his/her abstract is accepted, the author is expected to submit a
full paper (10-14 pages) before the workshop. The proceedings of the
workshop will be available at the conference site for registered persons.

Important dates:
Abstract submission deadline: July 31, 2013
Notification of acceptance: August 26, 2013
Deadline for camera-ready copy: September, 2013
LENLS10: October 27-28, 2013
Tutorial Lecture: October 29, 2013

Workshop Organizers/Program Committee:
   - Shunsuke Yatabe (West Japan Railway Company)
   - Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University/National Institute of Informatics)
   - Alastair Butler (PRESTO JST/Tohoku University)
   - Eric McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
   - Koji Mineshima (Keio University)
   - Yoshiki Mori (University of Tokyo)
   - Yasuo Nakayama (Osaka University)
   - Katsuhiko Sano (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
   - Katsuhiko Yabushita (Naruto University of Education)
   - Tomoyuki Yamada (Hokkaido University)
   - Kei Yoshimoto (Tohoku University)