Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: Doxastic Agency and Epistemic Responsibility, 2-3 Jun 2014, Bochum, GERMANY

Workshop: Doxastic Agency & Epistemic Responsibility
When: 02.-03. June 2014
Where: Beckmanns Hof, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany

The aim of the workshop is to bring together experts who are working in the 
areas of doxastic agency, belief-revision theory, epistemic deontologism, and 
epistemic justification, and to discuss recent advances regarding the interplay 
between doxastic agency and epistemic responsibility. The workshop addresses 
questions such as: do we have the same kind of control over our beliefs as we 
have over our actions, what kind of control do we have over our doxastic 
attitudes and how is epistemic responsibility related to notions such as 
epistemic justification and practical responsibility?

List of Speakers:

         * Amy Flowerree (Northwestern University, Evanston)
         * Sanford Goldberg (Northwestern University, Evanston)
         * Christopher Hookway (University of Sheffield)
         * Andrea Kruse (Ruhr-Universitt Bochum)
         * Anne Meylan (University of Geneva)
         * Nikolaj Nottelmann (University of Southern Denmark, Odense)
         * Rik Peels (VU University Amsterdam)
         * Hans Rott (Universitt Regensburg)
         * Matthias Steup (Purdue University, West Lafayette)
         * Verena Wagner (Universitt Konstanz)
         * Heinrich Wansing (Ruhr-Universitt Bochum)
         * Jan Willem Wieland (VU University Amsterdam)

There is no registration fee, but the number of participants is limited. If you 
want to participate in the workshop, please register by writing an e-mail to:


Questions concerning the workshop can be send to the same e-mail address. For 
further information visit the website of the workshop: