Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: French Philosophy of Mathematics Workshop, 9-11 Oct 2014, Toulouse, FRANCE


This workshop is the sixth in an annual series of workshops in philosophy 
of mathematics organized by a team of scholars from France and abroad. The 
program of last year's workshop is available at:

The forthcoming workshop will be held at the Institut de Mathmatiques de 
Toulouse (France). It will consist, as the previous workshops, in a 
three-day meeting, and feature both invited and contributed talks: 4 
invited talks and 6 contributed talks.

Deadline for submission: May 15, 2014
The confirmed invited speakers will be announced by then.

Notification of acceptance: July 1, 2014

Submissions of papers in any topic of philosophy of mathematics are 
welcome. The languages of the workshop are French and English.

Each submission should be no more than 15,000 characters, and formatted in 
Word, RTF or PDF. It should be sent to both following addresses: brice 
(dot) halimi (at) u-paris10 (dot) fr AND sebastien (dot) maronne (at) math 
(dot) univ-toulouse (dot) fr Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged 
by email.

The dealine for submission is May 15, 2014.

The Scientific Committee (see below) will evaluate each submission and 
notifies acceptance by July 1, 2014.

Each talk should be no longer than 45 minutes, and will be followed by a 
30 minutes discussion

Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are 
particularly encouraged to submit, as the workshop wll provide them with 
an opportunity to discuss their work with internationally renowned experts 
in the field.

This workshop is organized by the IMT (Universit Paul Sabatier) and is 
supported by IHPST (Paris), SPHERE (Paris), IREPH (Nanterre), the Henri 
Poincar Archives (Nancy), CEPERC (Aix) and STL (Lille).

Scientific Committee: Andrew Arana, Mark van Atten, Denis Bonnay, Paola 
Cant, Gabriella Crocco, Michael Detlefsen, Jacques Dubucs, Henri Galinon, 
Sebastien Gandon, Brice Halimi, Gerhard Heinzmann, Paolo Mancosu, 
Sbastien Maronne, Philippe Nabonnand, Marco Panza, Fabrice Pataut, 
Dominique Pradelle, David Rabouin, Shahid Rahman, Andrei Rodin, Stewart 
Shapiro, Ivahn Smadja, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz, Claudine Tiercelin, Sean 

Organizing Committee: Brice Halimi, Sbastien Maronne, Damian Rssler.