Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CALL FOR PAPERS: Boolean Algebras, Lattices, Algebraic Logic, Universal Algebra, Set Theory, Set-theoretic Topology and Point-free topology, 5-9 Jan 2015,Las Cruces NM (U.S.A.)

Conference website:
Conference e-mail: (use this instead of replying to this message)
To unsubscribe: send a blank e-mail to

BLAST is a conference focusing on Boolean Algebras, Lattices, Algebraic 
Logic, Universal Algebra, Set Theory, Set-theoretic Topology and 
Point-free Topology. It is supported by the NSF and circulates among 
different universities. The previous BLAST meetings were held at the 
University of Denver (2008), New Mexico State University (2009), the 
University of Colorado at Boulder (2010), the University of Kansas (2011), 
and Chapman University (2013).

Invited Speakers:

Papiya Bhattacharjee (Penn State Erie)
George Gratzer (University of Manitoba)
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
John Krueger (University of North Texas)
Julie Lindman (University of Colorado)
Jan van Mill (Vrije Universiteit)
Daniele Mundici (University of Florence)
Constantine Tsinakis (Vanderbilt University)


Algebraic Logic: Nick Bezhanishvili (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Set Theory: Joel Hamkins (City University of New York)
Point-free Topology: Jorge Picado (Universidade de Coimbra)
Universal Algebra: Matt Valeriote (McMaster University)

Contributed Talks: To apply to give a contributed talk, please see the 
Call for Papers on the conference website. The date for submission of 
abstracts is October 30. After October 30, contributed talks may still be 
accepted, depending on available space.

Travel and Lodging Grants: The NSF has provided support for graduate 
students, postdocs and recent Ph.D.s. To apply, please send a brief 
statement of research interests. The first round of decisions will be made 
by October 1. Applications received after October 1 will be considered on 
a rolling basis.

Important dates:

Expression of interest: August 30 (voluntary, non-committing) send to Financial support for students and recent Ph.D.s: 
October 1, send to Abstract submission: October 30, 
see the EasyChair address on the conference website.

Local Organizing and Program Committee: Guram Bezhanishvili, John Harding, 
Pat Morandi, and Bruce Olberding.

The BLAST Core Group

Guram Bezhanishvili (New Mexico State University)
Natasha Dobrinen (University of Denver)
William Fleissner (University of Kansas)
Nikolaos Galatos (University of Denver)
Su Gao (University of North Texas)
Eric Hall (University of Missouri)
John Harding (New Mexico State University)
Steve Jackson (University of North Texas)
Peter Jipsen (Chapman University)
Keith Kearnes (University of Colorado)
John Krueger (University of North Texas)
Donald Monk (University of Colorado)
M. Andrew Moshier (Chapman University)
Jack Porter (University of Kansas)
Andrzej Roslanowski (University of Nebraska)
Agnes Szendrei (University of Colorado)