Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: Automated Technology for Verification and Analysis ATVA 2007 - extended deadline

                           ATVA 2007
                 Fifth International Symposium on
        Automated Technology for Verification and Analysis
                Tokyo, Japan, October 22-24, 2007
Sponsored by
            National Institute of Informatics, Japan
            Kayamori Foundation of Information Science Advancement
   Submission of papers (extended):    May  21, 2007
   Notification of authors        :    June 25, 2007
   Camera-ready papers            :    July 23, 2007
   Martin Abadi (UCSC, Microsoft Research)
   Ken McMillan (Cadence Berkeley Labs)
   Moshe Vardi (Rice Univ.)
ATVA 2007 is the fifth in the series of symposia on Automated Technology for Verification and Analysis. The purpose of ATVA is to promote research on theoretical and practical aspects of automated analysis, verification and synthesis in East Asia by providing a forum for interaction between the regional and the international research communities and industry in the field. The first three ATVA symposia were held in 2003, 2004 and 2005 in Taipei, and ATVA 2006 was held in Beijing.
The Proceedings of ATVA 2007 will be published by Springer as a volume in the LNCS series. Submissions reporting original contributions are solicited in all areas of automated verification and analysis.  Please visit the ATVA 2007 Web site for details not found in this CFP.
The scope of interest is intentionally kept broad; it includes :
  - Theory useful for providing designers with automated support for obtaining correct software or hardware systems, including both functional and non functional aspects, such as: theory on (timed) automata, Petri-nets, concurrency theory, compositionality, model-checking, automated theorem proving, synthesis, performance analysis, correctness-by-construction results, infinite state systems, abstract interpretation, decidability results, parametric analysis or synthesis.
  - Applications of theory in engineering methods and particular domains and handling of practical problems occurring in tools, such
as: analysis and verification tools, synthesis tools, reducing complexity of verification by abstraction, improved representations, handling user level notations, such as UML, practice in industry applications to hardware, software or real-time and embedded systems. Case studies, illustrating the usefulness of tools or a particular approach are also welcome.
Theory papers should be motivated by practical problems and applications should be rooted in sound theory. Of particular interest are algorithms on one hand and methods and tools for integrating formal approaches into industrial practice. Special care should be taken as well to present papers in such a way that they are accessible not only to specialists, that is, jargon need to be defined and intuitive interpretation provided for theories.
A submitted paper must contain original contributions, clearly written in English, and include comparison with related work.  The authors are advised to prepare their manuscripts using the LNCS style.  Each paper should be no more than 15 pages long and be submitted electronically via the ATVA 2007 Web site.  Simultaneous submissions to other conferences are not allowed.
   Teruo Higashino (Osaka Univ., Japan)
   Yoshio Okamura (STARC, Japan)
   Kedar Namjoshi (Bell Labs, USA)
   Tomohiro Yoneda (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)
   Rajeev Alur (University of Pennsylvania)
   Christel Baier (University of Dresden)
   Jonathan Billington (University of South Australia)
   Sung-Deok Cha (Korea Advanced Inst. of Sci. and Techn.)
   Ching-Tsun Chou (Intel)
   Jin Song Dong (National University of Singapore)
   E. Allen Emerson (University of Texas at Austin)
   Masahiro Fujita (University of Tokyo)
   Susanne Graf (VERIMAG)
   Wolfgang Grieskamp (Microsoft research)
   Aarti Gupta (NEC Research)
   Teruo Higashino (Osaka University)
   Kiyoharu Hamaguchi (Osaka University)
   MoonZoo Kim (KAIST)
   Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University)
   Robert P. Kurshan (Cadence)
   Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania)
   Xuandong Li (Nanjing University)
   Shaoying Liu (Hosei University)
   Zhiming Liu (IIST/United Nations University)
   Mila E. Majster-Cederbaum (University of Mannheim)
   Shin Nakajima (National Institute of Informatics)
   Akio Nakata (Osaka University)
   Kedar Namjoshi (Bell Labs)
   Mizuhito Ogawa (JAIST)
   Olaf Owe (University of Oslo)
   Doron A. Peled (University of Warwick)
   Mike Reed (UNU-IIST, Macao)
   Hiroyuki Seki (NAIST)
   Xiaoyu Song (Portland State University)
   Yih-Kuen Tsay (National Taiwan University)
   Irek Ulidowski (Leicester University)
   Bow-Yaw Wang (Academia Sinica)
   Farn Wang (National Taiwan University)
   Yi Wang (Uppsala University)
   Baowen Xu (Southeast University of China)
   Hsu-Chun Yen (National Taiwan University)
   Tomohiro Yoneda (National Institiute of Informatics)
   Shoji Yuen (Nagoya University)
   Wenhui Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
   Lenore Zuck (University of Illinois at Chicago)
   E. Allen Emerson  (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
   Oscar H. Ibarra  (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
   Insup Lee  (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
   Doron A. Peled  (University of Warwick, UK)
   Farn Wang  (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
   Hsu-Chun Yen  (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)