CFProposal AISB2018

  The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation for Behaviour (AISB) is soliciting proposals for symposia to be held at the AISB 2018 convention.The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, A...


Insurance AI Analy...

Insurance AI Analytics Summit, October 9-10, London Join us for Europe’s only AI event dedicated to insurance where 300 attendees will unite from analytics, pricing, marketing, claims and underwriting. You’ll find out how advan...


AISB 2018 Convention

  The longest running convention on Artificial Intelligence, AISB 2018 will be held at the University of Liverpool, chaired by Floriana Grasso and Louise Dennis. As in the past years, AISB 2018 will provide a unique forum for p...


AI Summit London

     The AI Summit London: The World’s Number One AI Event for Business  Date: 9-10 May 2017 Venue: Business Design Centre, London. The AI Summit is the world’s first and largest/number one conference exhibition dedicated to t...


AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CF Participation: Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation WoLLIC 2007

  Call for Participation

         14th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation
                          Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
                              July 2-5, 2007
    (a satellite event to Brazilian Computer Society Conference - CSBC'07)

    WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research
    involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural
    language and reasoning.  Each meeting includes invited talks and
    tutorials as well as contributed papers.

    The Fourteenth WoLLIC will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from
    July 2 to July 5, 2007, in conjunction with the 27th Brazilian
    Computer Society Conference. It is sponsored by the Association for
    Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics
    (IGPL), the European Association for Logic, Language and Information
    (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
    (EATCS), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computacao (SBC), and the
    Sociedade Brasileira de Logica (SBL).

    The proceedings of WoLLIC'2007, including both invited and contributed
    papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in
    Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science.  In addition,
    abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of
    the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will
    be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC'2007 special issue
    of the journal Information and Computation.

    Alex Borgida (Rutgers)
    Alessandra Carbone (Paris)
    Martin Escardo (Birmingham)
    Philippa Gardner (Imperial Coll)
    Achim Jung (Birmingham)
    Louis Kauffman (U Illinois Chicago)
    Michael Moortgat (Utrecht)
    Paulo Oliva (London/QM)
    John Reif (Duke)
    Yde Venema (Amsterdam)

    Stone duality, by A. Jung
    Quantum topology and quantum computation, by L. Kauffman
    Biological computing, by J. Reif

    Description Logics: formal foundations and applications, by A. Borgida
    Group Theory and Classical Proofs, by A. Carbone
    Algorithmic Topology of Program Types, by M. Escardo
    Contex Logic and Tree Update, by Ph. Gardner
    On the interplay of logic and information: A topological analysis,
      by A. Jung
    Spin networks in quantum computation, by L. Kauffman
    Symmetries in natural language syntax and semantics:
      the Lambek-Grishin calculus, by M. Moortgat
    Computational Interpretations of Classical Linear Logic, by P. Oliva
    Autonomous programmable biomolecular devices using self-assembled DNA
      nanostructures specifying properties of data DNA Nanostructures,
      by J. Reif
    A modal distributive law, by Y. Venema

    The following publishers are expected to be exhibiting various books
    from their catalogue, prospectuses, journal samples, etc., and there
    will be a chance to order items at promotional prices:
      The MIT Press
      A K Peters
      Cambridge Univ Press
      CSLI Publications (Stanford Univ)
      Oxford Univ Press
      World Scientific
    It is likely that a few other international publishers will also take
    part in the book exhibit.

    Samson Abramsky (U Oxford)
    Michael Benedikt (Bell Labs)
    Lars Birkedal (ITU Copenhagen)
    Andreas Blass (U Michigan)
    Thierry Coquand (Chalmers U, Goteborg)
    Jan van Eijck (CWI, Amsterdam)
    Marcelo Finger (U Sao Paulo)
    Rob Goldblatt (Victoria U, Wellington)
    Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Redmond)
    Hermann Haeusler (PUC Rio)
    Masami Hagiya (Tokyo U)
    Joseph Halpern (Cornell U)
    John Harrison (Intel UK)
    Wilfrid Hodges (U London/QM)
    Phokion Kolaitis (IBM Almaden Research Center)
    Marta Kwiatkowska (U Birmingham)
    Daniel Leivant (Indiana U) (Chair)
    Maurizio Lenzerini (U Rome)
    Jean-Yves Marion (LORIA Nancy)
    Dale Miller (Polytechnique Paris)
    John Mitchell (Stanford U)
    Lawrence Moss (Indiana U)
    Peter O'Hearn (U London/QM)
    Prakash Panangaden (McGill, Montreal)
    Christine Paulin-Mohring (Paris-Sud, Orsay)
    Alexander Razborov (Steklov, Moscow)
    Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich U)
    Jouko Vaananen (U Helsinki)

    Marcelo da Silva Correa (U Fed Fluminense)
    Renata P. de Freitas (U Fed Fluminense)
    Ana Teresa Martins (U Fed Ceara')
    Anjolina de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco)
    Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco, co-chair)
    Petrucio Viana (U Fed Fluminense, co-chair)