Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

Final CFP: Theory and Applications of Models of Computation TAMC 2008

 5th Annual Conference on Theory and Applications of Models of Computation
                               (TAMC 2008)
                    April 25-29, 2008, Xi'an, China
                      DEADLINE: November 10, 2007

The 5th Annual Conference on Theory and Applications of Models of
Computation (TAMC08) will be held in Xi'an, China, April 25 to 29, 2008.

The three main themes of the conference TAMC08 will continue to be
Computability, Complexity, and Algorithms. It aims to bring together
researchers with an interest in theoretical computer science, algorithmic
mathematics, and applications to the physical sciences. Typical but not
exclusive topics of interest include:

Algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography,
computational geometry, computational game theory, algorithmic graph theory
and combinatorics, algorithmic algebra, number theory and coding theory,
learning theory, computational biology, theoretical problems in networks and
security, quantum computing, randomness, on-line algorithms, and parallel
algorithms, natural computation, models of computation, automata and neural
networks, continuous and real computation, computable mathematics, relative
computability and degree structures, Turing definability, generalised and
higher type computation, proofs and computation, physical computability,
decidability and undecidability.

More information about the conference is available on the TAMC 08 web site.

Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, in the LNCS
Series by Springer. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their
work at the conference. Special issues of Theoretical Computer Science and
Mathematical Structures in Computer Science devoted to a selected set of
accepted papers of the conference are planned.

Submission deadline: Papers must be received electronically by 11:59 pm EST
Nov. 10, 2007.
Notification: Acceptance or rejection decisions will be sent by Jan. 8,
Final versions: Final versions of accepted papers are due on Feb. 10, 2008.
Abstract submission
Authors are required to submit their extended abstracts electronically. A
detailed description of the electronic submission process is available at
the conference web site.

Bernard Chazelle (Princeton)
Cynthia Dwork (Microsoft Research)

Special Session on Models of Computation (Organising Chairs: S. Barry Cooper
(Leeds), and Ying Jiang (ISCAS))

Jose Felix Costa (Lisboa), On the Complexity of Measurement in Physics
Vincent Danos (Univ. of Paris 7)
Luke Ong (Oxford)
Mingsheng Ying (Tsinghua): Quantum Loop Programs
Miklos Santha (Univ. Paris Sud)
Gilles Dowek( Ecole polytechnique): Lambda-calculus, Higher-order Functions,
Linearity and Quantum Computing

Conference Chair:
Dingzhu Du ( University of Texas at Dallas)
PC co-Chairs:
Manindra Agrawal (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India)
Dingzhu Du (University of Texas at Dallas)
Zhenhua Duan (Xidian University)
Angsheng Li (ISCAS)

PC members:
Manindra Agrawal (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)
Giorgio Ausiello (Rome, Italy)
Paola Bonizzoni (University of Milano-Bicocca, 20135 -Milano, Italy )
Jin-Yi Cai (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Cristian S. Calude (University of Auckland )
Jianer Chen (Texas A&M University)
Francis Chin (University of Hong Kong)
S. Barry Cooper (University of Leeds, UK)
Decheng Ding (Nanjing University)
Rod Downey (Wellington)
Dingzhu Du (University of Texas at Dallas)
Zhenhua Duan (Xidian University)
Rudolf Fleischer (Fudan University)
Hiroshi Imai (University of Tokyo)
Kazuo Iwama (Kyoto University)
Ying Jiang (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Valentine Kabanets (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Maciej Koutny (Newcastle Univerisity)
Andrew Lewis (University of Leeds)
Angsheng Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Xingwu Liu (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Satyanarayana Lokam (Microsoft Research-India)
Giuseppe Longo (Paris, France)
Janos Makowsky (Israel Institute of Technology)
Jaikumar Radhakrishnan (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)
Rudiger Reischuk (Universitat zu Lubeck)
Helmut Schwichtenberg (Mathematisches Institut der Universitat Munchen)
Xiaoming Sun (Tsinghua University)
Luca Trevisan (UC Berkeley)
Christopher Umans (Cal Tech)
Hanpin Wang (Beijing University)
Osamu Watanabe (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Mingsheng Ying (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
Shengyu Zhang (California Institute of Technology)
Ting Zhang (Microsoft Research Asia)
Wenhui Zhang (ISCAS)
Yunlei Zhao (Fudan University)
Hong Zhu (Fudan University, Shanghai)

For TAMC08, we gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the Xidian