AISB Wired Health

    AISB and WIRED events have partnered to bring together inspirational high-profile speakers. Join hundreds of healthcare, pharmaceutical and technology influencers and leaders at the 4th Annual WIRED Health event, taking pl...


Hugh Gene Loebner

  The AISB were sad to learn last week of the passing of philanthropist and inventor Hugh Gene Loebner PhD, who died peacefully in his home in New York at the age of 74.  Hugh was founder and sponsor of The Loebner Prize, an an...


AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB event Bulletin Item

Call for CAV Award Nominations (CAV 2008)

Call for CAV AWARD Nominations

        20th International Conference on
      Computer Aided Verification (CAV 2008)

An annual award, called the CAV Award, has been established
       "For a specific fundamental contribution
       or a series of outstanding contributions
       to the field of Computer-Aided Verification."

The cited contribution(s) must have been made not more recently than
five years ago and not over twenty years ago. In addition, the
contribution(s) should not yet have received recognition via a major
award, such as the ACM Turing or Kanellakis Awards.

The award of ,000 will be granted to an individual or a group of
individuals chosen by the Award Committee from a list of nominations.

The Award Committee may choose to make no award in a given year.

The CAV Award will be presented in an award ceremony at the
Computer-Aided Verification Conference and a citation will be published
in a journal of record (currently, Formal Methods in System Design).

Anyone, with the exception of members of the Award Committee, is
eligible to receive the Award.

Call for Nominations for the CAV Award
Anyone can submit a nomination except a member of the Steering Committee
of the Computer-Aided Verification Conference, or someone whose term of
service on the Award Committee ended within the last two years. The
Award Committee can originate a nomination.

A nomination must state clearly the contribution(s), explain why the
contribution is fundamental or the series of contributions is
outstanding, and be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence
of worthiness. Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25
words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution(s),
and a detailed statement to justify the nomination.

For the CAV Award in 2008, please send nominations to one of the
following two Steering Committee members of the Computer-Aided
Verification Conference, who will forward the nominations to the Chair
of the Award Committee:

           Edmund M. Clarke, CMU          emc (at)
           Robert P. Kurshan, Cadence     rkurshan (at)

Nominations must be received by January 28, 2008.