Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: OAGM 2008 (pattern recognition)

Challenges in the Biosciences:
Image Analysis and Pattern Recognition Aspects

32nd OAGM/AAPR workshop, May 26-27 2008
Bildungszentrum St. Magdalena, Linz, Austria


The 32nd annual workshop of the Austrian Association for Pattern 
Recognition (OAGM/AAPR) provides a platform for researchers in the 
fields of Image Analysis, Image Processing, and Pattern Recognition to 
discuss important topics of the computer vision discipline. It is 
organized in workshop form presenting the latest work of both Austrian 
and international institutes.
Theme of the 32nd workshop is "Challenges in the Biosciences: Image 
Analysis and Pattern Recognition Aspects".

We cordially welcome submissions in these fields, as we plan a dedicated 
session to these topics. Further topics relate to all aspects covered by 
the OAGM/AAPR community: image analysis & processing, and pattern 
recognition They traditionally include, but are
not limited to:
image acquisition,
image / video processing and analysis,
color imaging,
image databases,
image synthesis,
digital rights protection,
motion analysis and tracking,
interactive systems,
reconstruction from multiple views,
view registration,
mixed-reality applications,

Confirmed Invited Speakers:
Prof. Fred Hamprecht
University of Heidelberg, Germany
Prof. Lucas J. van Vliet
Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
Prof. Wiro Niessen,
Erasmus MC - University Medical Center Rotterdam, the Netherlands

Paper Review:
The paper page limit is 12 (submission and camera ready).
Papers have to be written in English. Formatting instructions and 
templates are available on the web page. The paper has to be submitted 
electronically via the web page starting by 10. Jan. 2008.
Submission and presentation of a similar paper at another international 
conference is no reason for rejection. Please consider the strict 
submission deadline.
Accepted papers based on 3 independent reviews have to be presented 
orally or as poster. Proceedings are intended to be published as OCG 
workshop proceedings (

Important dates:
16. February 2008 Submission of full papers
05. March 2008 Notification of acceptance
30. March 2008 Submission of final papers
26-27. May 2008 Workshop

Program Committee:
C. Beleznai (Advanced Computer Vision Austria)
H. Bischof (TU Graz)
J. Boulanger (Institut Curie)
M. de Bruijne (University of Copenhagen & Erasmus University Rotterdam)
M. Burge (Noblis, Washington D.C.)
W. Burger (FH Hagenberg)
D. Chetverikov (Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
C. Eitzinger (Profactor, Austria)
M. Haller (FH Hagenberg)
V. Hlavac (TU Prague)
W. Kropatsch (TU Vienna)
A. Leonardis (Univ. Ljubljana)
M. Loog (University of Copenhagen & Delft University of Technology)
E. Meijering (Erasmus University, Rotterdam)
G. Paar (Joanneum Research, Graz)
L. Paletta (Joanneum Research, Graz)
A. Pinz (TU Graz)
R. Sablatnig (TU Vienna)
R. Sara (TU Prague)
O. Scherzer (Univ. Innsbruck)
W. Schneider (Boku Vienna)
E. Schuster (Med. Univ. Vienna)
A. Uhl (Univ. Salzburg)
M. Vincze (TU Vienna)