Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: Computer Vision Winter Workshop CVWW'07

 C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S

12th Computer Vision Winter Workshop
St. Lambrecht, Austria, Feb. 6-8, 2007


We invite you to participate in the Computer Vision Winter Workshop
(CVWW'07, which will be held in St.
Lambrecht, Austria. The topics of interest include all aspects of
computer vision including but not limited to the following areas:

			Computer Vision
			Image Analysis
			Pattern Recognition
			3D Vision
			Cognitive Vision

Prospective authors are invited to submit a full-length eight-page paper
via the CVWW'07 web-page ( Accepted
papers will be published on CD-ROM and in the printed workshop
proceedings (with ISBN).

Important Dates:
- Submission of full papers		December 28, 2006
- Notification of acceptance		January 17, 2007
- Registration				January 24, 2007
- Submission of camera ready papers	January 24, 2007
- Workshop				February 6-8, 2007

Please note, submission deadline is firm.

Programm Committee:
Horst Bischof (TU Graz)  	
Allan Hanbury (TU Vienna) 	
Vclav Hlavc( (CTU Prague) 	
Martin Kampel (TU Vienna) 	
Walter Kropatsch (TU Vienna) 	
Georg Langs (TU Vienna) 	
Ale Leonardis (University of Ljubljana) 	
Jir Matas (CTU Prague) 	
Tom Pajdla (CTU Prague)
Roland Perko (University of Ljubljana)
Franjo Pernus (University of Ljubljana)
Thomas Pock (TU Graz)
Radim ra (CTU Prague)
Dieter Schmalstieg (TU Graz)
Danijel Skocaj (University of Ljubljana)
Robert Sablatnig (TU Vienna)

Best regards,

Michael Grabner, Helmut Grabner