AI Europe 2016

  Partnership between AISB and AI Europe 2016: Next December 5th and 6th in London, AI Europe will bring together the European AI eco-system by gathering new tools and future technologies appearing in professional fields for th...


AISB convention 2017

  In the run up to AISB2017 convention (, I've asked Joanna Bryson, from the organising team, to answer few questions about the convention and what comes with it. Mohammad Majid...


Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...



AISB opportunities Bulletin Item

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: Presburger Award for Young Scientists in theoretical computer science

Starting in 2010, the European Association of Theoretical Computer Scienc e (EATCS) established the 
Presburger Award, conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and 
Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to sev eral young scientists) for 
outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a 
series of published papers.

The Award is named after Mojżesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on 
decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student 
in 1929. In 2010 the Presburger Award was given to Mikołaj Boja& ;#324;czyk (Warsaw) for 
his deep contributions to automata theory and to logic and algebra in computer sci ence.  Patricia 
Bouyer- Decitre was the recipient of the award in 2011 for her fundamental contri butions to the 
theory and applications of timed automata as a model of real-time systems.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or gr oup of members of the 
theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master 
thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time
of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2012 the date of birth should be 
in 1976 or later).

The Presburger Award Committee of 2012 consists of Monika Henzinger (Vien na), Anton?n Kučera 
(Brno) and Stefano Leonardi (Rome, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and
(links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letter s (if any), should be 
sent to:

Stefano Leonardi,

Dipartimento di Ingegneria Informatica,
Automatica e Gestionale Antonio Ruberti, Sapienza University of Rome, Via Ariosto 25, 00185 Roma, Italy; or

by December 31st, 2011.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP2012 for a lecture.
The Presburger Award is sponsored by BiCi, the Bertinoro international Ce nter for informatics.

For further information: