Harold Cohen

Harold Cohen, tireless computer art pioneer dies at 87   Harold Cohen at the Tate (1983) Aaron image in background   Harold Cohen died at 87 in his studio on 27th April 2016 in Encintias California, USA.The first time I hear...


Dancing with Pixies?...

At TEDx Tottenham, London Mark Bishop (the former chair of the Society) demonstrates that if the ongoing EU flagship science project - the 1.6 billion dollar "Human Brain Project” - ultimately succeeds in understanding all as...


Computerised Minds. ...

A video sponsored by the society discusses Searle's Chinese Room Argument (CRA) and the heated debates surrounding it. In this video, which is accessible to the general public and those with interest in AI, Olly's Philosophy Tube ...


Erden in AI roundtab...

On Friday 4th September, philosopher and AISB member Dr Yasemin J Erden, participated in an AI roundtable at Second Home, hosted by Index Ventures and SwiftKey.   Joining her on the panel were colleagues from academia and indu...


AISB Convention 2016

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2016 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/AISBTube). The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB miscellaneous Bulletin Item

2008 Jenks Prize: Call for Nominations


Dear Colleagues,

The deadline for nominations for the 2008 Richard D. Jenks Prize
is approaching quickly.  Please consider making a nomination for this
prestigious award.


ACM/SIGSAM Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
for Excellence in Computer Algebra Software Engineering

The third Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for excellence in software
engineering for computer algebra will be awarded at International
Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC 2008) at RISC
Linz, Austria, in July, 2008. The prize will consist of a plaque and a
cash award of jumi,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this prize are hereby
solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully
completed nomination form. Candidates (or their nominators) should
arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation
submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software
engineering achievements in computer algebra. The letters are an
especially important part of the nomination packet. We welcome
re-nominations of previously nominated candidates into the current

Please see http://www.sigsam.org/awards/Jenks for more details.

Previous winners have been the SINGULAR team at the University of
Kaiserslautern (2004) and Prof. John J. Cannon of The University of
Sydney (2006).

Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an
important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an
individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions
about the suitability of a given body of work for the prize should be
directed to a member of the prize committee as listed below.

All nominations must be received by May 1, 2008.

The prize winner will be selected by a committee consisting of the
following individuals:

- Barry Trager (co-chair), IBM Research (bmt@watson.ibm.com)
- Tony Hearn (co-chair), Rand Corporation (hearn@rand.org)
- David Musser, Rensselaer Polytechnic Inst (musser@cs.RPI.edu)
- Mike Dewar, Numerical Algorithms Group (miked@nag.co.uk)
- Mark Giesbrecht, ACM SIGSAM Chair, University of Waterloo (mwg@uwaterloo.ca )

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent by email to
jenksprize@sigsam.org by May 1, 2008.